From Lawyer to Front-End Developer

Agile Actors
PlayBook
5 min readMay 25, 2022

--

Sofia Afendra - Front-End Developer

I worked for two years as a trainee lawyer when I decided to change almost everything in my life. But it was already enough for me, as everyday life at work left me unsatisfied. I didn’t even have a clear plan of where I wanted to head in the coming years. The only thing I knew for sure, I was trapped in a profession that I had never really matched.

Fortunately, I quickly realized that I could not carry the same negativity for life and that inaction is not the solution if I want things to improve. Changing careers, however, was not an easy decision to make because up to that point, I identified myself as a would-be lawyer, and that was all I knew how to do.

I turned to those around me for advice and guidance without further ado. Thanks to my brother, who is a software engineer, I opened my mind to web development. Many reasons make programming an attractive option to me:

- the creativity of the profession,

- its modern and sought-after character,

- its decent earnings and significant demand,

- easy access to plenty of learning and study material,

- the ability to become a digital nomad and

- the fact that it is a crisis-proofed industry if we consider the dramatic and unprecedented situations that followed the COVID-19 pandemic.

The course of action has been demanding: dealing from scratch with something so different, the large amount of new information that I had to assimilate in a short period, the dedication and consistency that I had to constantly demonstrate, combined with all the obligations of a new employee in Greece of the coronavirus, were some of the challenges I had to face.

However, during the career shift and my re-orientation to web development, I realized that what matters most is the will to learn and our attitude towards challenges, not our starting point. I do not have a computer science degree. Nor did I have any programming background until recently. But I believe we can learn anything whensoever as long as there is strong motivation and courage to push us, even when we want to give up.

Having completed an intensive cycle of online and private lessons and having used every hour of my free time to practice, I was ready for the next step: to find my first job as a front-end developer. At this point, I was lucky enough to know which team I wanted to join from the start.

Before starting my coding journey and while looking for a new job, I first visited the Agile Actors headquarters as my brother’s guest. As soon as I crossed the door, I found myself in the ideal working environment: modern offices that allow communication and efficient cooperation between teams, young, enthusiastic professionals, and most importantly, many growth opportunities. All these reasons and many more were essential for me to be involved in programming.

From that moment on, I realized what I wanted and needed for my new beginning, a human-centered environment to embrace my diversity and give me the tools to improve myself. It became an end in itself for me to find my place in this company, and I succeeded. Perhaps, the only thing that surpassed the moral reward of achieving a seemingly impossible goal was the satisfaction of the first time my code worked as I intended.

Learning coding can become chaotic, and several pitfalls lurk if we do not draw up a plan carefully. Having completed this course, I would suggest the following steps to an aspiring developer:

1. Clarify what you want to learn

There are a variety of specializations and programming languages from which you can choose. I chose front-end development because it is more beginner-friendly as it is more visual, and we can see the results of our code immediately on the screen.

2. Do enough research to find quality courses

If you can afford it, you can choose an online Bootcamp. Otherwise, there are many related YouTube channels or online platforms where courses are cheaper and often combined with offers. In any case, spend a lot of time to find the most suitable one for your needs, so as not to spend it later on useless lessons.

3. Design your study plan and set small achievable goals

Set the minimum study time you want to do every day. Make sure that during those hours, there are no distractions. If possible, find a study buddy for support and encouragement, whether they are from your social circle or just an online programming buddy.

4. Practice

No matter how many lessons you attend, no matter how many books you read, always leave time in your daily schedule for on-hand practice. Only then will information become knowledge, and you will be able to understand it in depth.

5. Network with the right people

For me, this person was my brother. Not only because he introduced me to the world of web development but also because he was my mentor. He undertook to guide me, train me and support me in all phases of my course. But not everyone is equally lucky to have an expert available. Try to widen your social circle by making the most of social media platforms, such as LinkedIn, or meetups, like GreeceJS, where you can look for people with similar experiences to advise you and support you.

Alternatively, look for companies with training programs. For this purpose, I couldn’t think of a better example than the Agile Actors. To this end, Agile has established the institution of external coaching, where experienced programmers undertake the preparation and technical training of new potential colleagues who are almost ready to enter the labor market to give them the last push they need.

Almost two years later, my decision to change careers is constantly confirmed, and I continue with the same undiminished enthusiasm every day. Therefore, I will encourage people to consider software engineering as a career path and remind them that it is never too late for a fresh start.

Sofia Afendra-Linkedin

If you’re looking to take your next step and join our Team check out our current openings here!

--

--