3 Great Resources for Starting a Guild or Community of Practice

Here’s what I read and what I learned & took from each source

Iris Bröse
Agile Insider

--

Starting a Guild or Community of Practice needs preparation, especially if you are doing it the first time (as I am).

Guide to Communities of Practice by Luis Gonçalves

This guide was the most helpful one for me. I took a lot from it and created a summary for our company’s wiki. Especially the questions were helpful: I went through them with a co-worker and we discussed what we would like to do. Here are the questions we answered:

  • What specific topics does the community want to address?
  • How are these topics relevant to the organization?
  • What kind of influence will the community have on the organization?
  • What are the benefits and obligations of each membership?
  • How will it help members develop professionally? Whatever the benefits are, they need to be communicated…

--

--

Iris Bröse
Agile Insider

Agile Coach | Scrum & OKR Master | <3 Startups | Student of Organizational Psychology | Book Worm.