PSM I Preparation-Resources/books that could help in passing PSM 1

Sahil Jain
Agile Insider
Published in
3 min readNov 7, 2021

First of all, I am delighted to share that I have passed the PSM I exam with a perfect 100% score.

I want to share my journey with the intention to help other aspirants in their journey ahead.

The exam is easy if you have a good understanding of Scrum Guide. I didn’t find any question where you can’t eliminate or choose the correct one easily.

The only Tip is — When in doubt follow the Scrum Guide. I finished my exam in 37 minutes. Time Management is key. Look for options that don’t follow the Scrum Guide and use the elimination technique to mark the best answer if in doubt and move on to next. You can always review it later. Don’t spend more than 30 seconds on any question.

I marked five questions for review. I had enough time to go back to all the questions once again for final review. Finally, I hit the submit button and phew — got the congratulations screen. I believe two weeks should give you enough time to prepare for the exam.

Resources you need / can refer for the exam:

1. Scrum Guide 2020. (This is the BIBLE (MUST) to clear the exam). Ensure you have read it multiple times, each time understanding more in-depth. Memorizing won’t help. You need to ensure you understand the WHY of each accountability, event, artifact, commitment, value.

2. Udemy course by Valentin Despa. This is a good course along with quality mocks to practice. All the topics are explained clearly and there are short quizzes at the end of each topic to validate your learnings. There are 3 mocks available to practice which is highly recommended to assess your knowledge.

https://www.udemy.com/share/104Uow3@fw5WuRxNQ_nbn5gn_-rJQ7lDumGlcF0Vi4SMk12sPC9U0kpMICyykChibxhiZxHa/

3. If you like reading books then I recommend reading Scrum Narrative and PSM Guide by Mohammed Musthafa Soukath Ali. You can directly get from Amazon both Kindle or Paperback format. The book is easy to read and concise. It explains all the topics which are required to clear the exam. It also has short quizzes and 1 complete mock test of 80 questions which you can take to assess your knowledge.

Tips to pass the exam:

  1. Read the Scrum guide each day. You can also listen to the audio version of Scrum Guide 2020- “https://youtu.be/qJtd5jUJdFU"
  2. Read Soukath’s Ali book one time. Solve all the quizzes and mock tests at the end of the book.
  3. Go through the Udemy course of Valentin Despa. Follow his lecture and attend all the mock tests. Go back to the Scrum Guide for any clarification and understanding.
  4. Solve the Open assessment available free at Scrum.org for Scrum Master and Product Owner roles.
  5. Give the exam and Pass it with flying colors.

The exam would be easy if you have understood the Scrum Guide and not memorized it.

I wish you all the best for the exam and in case any assistance is required you can reach out to me at LinkedIn — https://www.linkedin.com/in/sahil-jain-97a7b9161/

--

--

Sahil Jain
Agile Insider

Agility Coach at Commonwealth Bank of Australia | Helping teams to optimize value by optimizing flow