7 Tips for Product Managers to Optimise Their First 30 days at a New Job

Practical advice for a smooth transition into a new company.

Curtis Stanier
Agile Insider

--

Photo by rawpixel.com from Pexels

Changing jobs isn’t something one does often. It’s a big decision. Being a Product Manager requires having both breadth and depth of understanding, which needs to encompass the organization, the business, the people, the customers and the technology. When starting a new company you possess little of this knowledge. I recently went through this transition. I went from having over four years of domain knowledge and historical context to knowing nothing. It’s daunting and scary.

The voice in the back of your mind when joining a new company

But something daunting and scary should not stop you. In my career, I’ve spent a lot of time on-boarding new employees and developed a framework to support them during their transition. I had the chance to test this framework myself and wanted to share my approach with others embarking on their next challenge.

Most of these tips work in conjunction with the on-boarding activities, your new company organizes. However, it is beneficial to formalize tasks to give yourself a degree of structure for times you are feeling overwhelmed. Your…

--

--

Curtis Stanier
Agile Insider

Director of Product at @DeliveryHeroCom. Formerly @HelloFresh, @BBC, @Atos. Passion for product, business &tech. I like helping people solve problems. Berlin