The product owner, product leader product manager and the scrum accountabilities

--

Disclaimer

I welcome product managers and product leaders to the session in my product owner classes. However, there are differences between product owners, product leaders, and product managers. When people come to my class, I’m not teaching them about product management or product leadership. I might introduce them to some concepts in the same space, but I would not want people to believe that I have taught them about product management or product leadership.

Marty Cagan, with his Silicon Valley product group, has a great set of workshops to help people understand more about product management and product leadership.

Preliminaries

What does a product leader do? (At least my understanding of what a product leader does)

When thinking about a product leader, I want you to imagine a situation where:

  1. we have a product, a vehicle for delivering value; and
  2. that is recognized by the customer or end-user i.e., that you understand what it is, and when you mention it, they know what you’re…

--

--

John Coleman executive guide, product leader
Agile Insider

Leadershum Power List of the Top 200 Biggest Voices in Leadership in 2023, agility chef, executive agility guide, product manager, creator Kanplexity & Xagility