Meet the Team: Igor, Head of Back-End Team

Agora Blockchain Team
AgoraBlockchain
Published in
2 min readNov 2, 2018
Photo by Saksham Gangwar on Unsplash

Igor is the Head of our Back-End Team at Agora. This week, we thought it would be fun to get to know Igor better. Here’s what he had to say:

Can you tell us more about your background?

Yeah, so I started out by studying Applied Mathematics and Cryptography at the Institute Institute of Cryptography, Telecommunications and Computer Science (IKSI) in Moscow. During that time, I developed my practical skills in cryptography and spent a lot of time in research labs. After the university, I spent five years working for the Committee for State Security of Belarus, during which time, I developed a deep understanding of the workings of cryptography.

After this, I joined the research and development team at SK hynix, which is a global corporation based out of Korea. They develop the next generation of solutions for Solid State Drives (SSDs.) So, here, I design and develop algorithms and models primarily.

How did you take up an interest in blockchain?

Well, my background is in cryptography and cryptography is a big pillar that blockchain stands on. But it started with reading some academic papers on how it all works and what algorithms are typically used in blockchain technology. Then, about 18 months ago, I met some guys who were working on developing a poker application based on the blockchain (totalpoker.io). They asked me to create distributed card generation protocol. So, this project became my entry point into the practical application of blockchain. A few months later, I joined Agora.

Why did you choose to join Agora?

Because of my background in cryptography, I am very interested in blockchain technology and the real-world applications for it. But the most important thing for me is that Agora is going to bring a new voting system into the world, and I think that it’s a very cool and interesting project.

Are you very passionate about voting systems or elections in general?

Yes, I don’t want to get into the details, but given where I grew up, honest elections are very important to me. It’s a cause that is very close to my heart.

Thanks for reading and for being a part of Agora’s community. We like having you onboard!

If you like what you see, give us some claps to let us know! Claps are akin to likes on Facebook or on Twitter: they tell us what’s working well and what isn’t. And your feedback is invaluable, so don’t be shy.

Interested in reading more about us? Check out Agora in the News by visiting https://agora.vote/news

--

--

Agora Blockchain Team
AgoraBlockchain

Agora is a Swiss lab and foundation offering decentralized digital voting systems based on blockchain technology. https://agora.vote/