The Bubble

FRINGE22 Studio
agreetodisagree
Published in
5 min readFeb 6, 2018

By Alfredo A. Weeks VI

It’s been about two years since I’ve left the US, and lately I’ve been having that traveling itch. For the most part throughout my travels it was never as a tourist. But rather more as a resident or part-time resident with a second home, it’s complicated.

This time around for 10 days I stepped into a pair of touristy shoes and set out to enjoy my new destination with a hint of business and play. I spoke with locals, engaged with shop owners, listened to the experiences of workers throughout their day to day lives while visiting the United Arab Emirates.

Landing in Abu Dhabi airport, the ever so familiar scent of the oud fragrance lingered in the air. The very same scent, that reminded me of part of my experience while living in Saudi Arabia. As an American, to most we were expected to live in a gated community, mostly made up of westerners and non-muslims. But my experience was far from that. My latest trip to Abu Dhabi and Dubai would spark many of my past memories while seeing a clear change in time and culture in the Middle East.

Abu Dhabi airport sparkled. It was a nice mash up of faces from the west with a strong presence of the UAE historic past. I understand every country has its challenges but I was impressed with the discipline as well as the cordial nature of people through out the country. I traveled to and from Abu Dahbi and Dubai every day, and it was great experiencing the contrasting scenery between the two.

“Interesting how people tend to put you in a bubble when they think you’re not familiar with the culture or language.”

An Arabic speaker, due to my past history in the gulf, I was able to communicate as well as experience the country differently from the way most westerners can. I felt a sense of responsibility as well as ownership from the UAE citizens and residents to show their country in the best light.

On the other hand my first three days in the UAE I had to litterally check a couple of idiots due to their out right disrespect. It’s Interesting how people tend to put you in a bubble when they think you’re not familiar with the culture or language. As soon as they tried their games I was quick to start bringing my arabic front and center. I thought I lost so much of the arabic language since I didn’t have to use it as much since moving back to the US years ago.

Walking through the souks (old district) all you see are the hardcore hustlers. Trying to sell you this or that. Everyone is looking to make a living. The worst part of it, is when you become interested in something and you ask about the price, that’s when it gets exciting. Some of these store owners, street hustlers and vendors will tell you anything under the sun because they believe you are just some dumb tourist. I really got a laugh out of their games.

“In America, to work a minimum wage job, in a mall, it is almost impossible for you to survive with only one job.”

There was one Filipina vendor I came across named Alana. We sparked up a conversation about her wanting to move to the US. I asked, why do you want to move there? She said for a better life, more freedom and opportunities. I had to ask her a couple questions first, before telling her about certain realities many people live with everyday in the states.

I first asked her, is this you only job, and do you work full-time? She said “Yes”. Then I asked “Do you get time off?” She said “Yes”. Then I asked “Are you able to pay rent, electricity, and go out and buy yourself a gift from time to time?” Alana, replied “Yes”. “If your friends or family need help, are you able to help them?” Again, Alana replied “Yes”.

I then told her in America, to work a minimum wage job, in a mall, it is almost impossible for you to survive with only one job. As much as I wanted to speak up for the US, I had to give her a taste of reality in America for so many people.

I continued exploring Dubai, all the way through to the old souk district and right smack in the middle of the hustle and bustle I noticed a wall. With a simple yet powerful spray painted message. As crude and simple the letters formed, it read “Together we are u”. It was the most beautiful thing I’ve come across during my whole trip. It stopped me, it moved me, this message was so honest and true.

“in America, to work a minimum wage job, in a mall, it is almost impossible for you to survive with only one job.”

What surrounded this beautifully written statement of humanity was a scene of abandonment. Rocks, dirt and a trash filled the space, yet the simple piece of graffiti written in black spray paint stood out. It looked as if the words were waiting for someone to notice, and give it the attention the beautifully written statement deserved. It captivated me, in the middle of all of the chaos and commerce. It felt like those very words “Together we are u” were placed in that very spot to remind us of what we shouldn’t forget but so easily do.

I took the trip to the UAE for a bit of business and bit of fun, but I believe I came back home with so much more. The way all of us want a better life, freedom to practice our beliefs and help others. People are seriously struggling to find the pathway to live the best life possible. Even if it means going to the UAE, or moving to the US. Many of our perspectives of freedom can differ throughout the world, but to many freedom means opportunity and access to better our lives.

On the way back home we had a layover in Amsterdam. As I walked through the airport on my way to the next gate ready for departure, I noticed a meditation center right smack in the middle of the airport. I walked in and would see catalogues and and pamphlets talking about different religions, cultures and meditation techniques sitting side-by-side on the book shelf. Inside the room, there were a couple of muslims praying, but the atmosphere was as if anyone could be in there, and all were welcomed.

Out of nowhere the image of that simple peice of art, those few but powerful words from the wall in Dubai appeared in my memory. “Together we are u.” However much or little, we have similar needs and wants, and in a perfect world we’d like to believe all of humanities intentions are ultimately for the greater good. Even when that’s far from the truth.

There are those who thrive off of chaos, corruption, evil, divisiveness, racism and oppression. I don’t expect for them to be the driving force behind the change in this world.

Of all of the things that devide us, what are the commonalities that join and inspire us to look deep into someone else’s reality? Ask yourself, who should help change where the world is going. Try taking sharp look in the mirror, because “Together we are u”, we are part of the problem as well the solution.

--

--