Learning How to Grow Cannabis with Agtech [pt. 1]

Liz
Agriculture 3.0
Published in
5 min readJun 2, 2017

This is the first in a series of pieces documenting the experiences of a new home-grower. She’s growing cannabis outdoors in San Francisco and is incorporating sensor technology as she grows.

Oakland Garden Supply — my last stop before I headed home to start growing!

I haven’t really grown my own plants before. I’m not sure why that’s the case. Time? Convenience? Lack of knowledge? Maybe a combination of all three. But as the agriculture technology industry continues to grow, it’s becoming easier for non-traditional growers to get their hands dirty, too! Handheld, consumer-based agriculture technology (agtech) has finally arrived. Perhaps now, many of the hurdles that have hindered people from growing plants in their own backyards have been cleared away.

RESEARCH: Thinking about growing cannabis for the first time can definitely feel a bit intimidating. Amazon to the rescue! I bought a copy of Ed Rosenthal’s Marijuana Grower’s Handbook. After reading through the first few chapters, I decided to grow outdoors. The weather is getting warmer and sunnier in San Francisco (fingers crossed that it will continue), and I’d rather not increase my electricity usage.

I snapped this picture of beautiful San Francisco at the top of Bernal Heights Park in early May, 2017!

Did you know that legalized indoor marijuana-growing ops currently make up 1% of the total electricity usage in the US?! Growing cannabis indoors makes sense. You can grow in private and fully control your growing environment. But now that the recreational use and cultivation of cannabis is legal in eight states, growers in these states have the opportunity to shift from growing “in their dark, hidden closets” to growing more sustainably outdoors. Solstice Farm is a phenomenal example of this shift. Hopefully we’ll start to see more growers follow in Solstice’s footsteps soon.

Although this isn’t one of Solstice’s greenhouses, I did have the opportunity to check out some awesome greenhouses in Oregon last December during the Women in Sustainable Ag Conference.

SATIVA OR INDICA? Which sub species should I grow? Ed’s book helped me understand the biological differences between Sativa and Indica. I decided to grow Indica-dominant hybrids for two main reasons:

  1. Indica strains are known to grow shorter and denser. I don’t need my plants to get too tall in my tiny SF backyard!
  2. Indica strains evolved in northern latitudes and don’t need as much light, compared to Sativa strains. Since I can’t control the SF weather, Indica feels like the best bet.

CAN I GROW OUTDOORS LEGALLY? With prop 64 passing last November, I knew that it was now legal for any person over the age of 21 to grow up to six plants at home in the state of California… I just wasn’t sure if there were any specific rules and regulations for outdoor home-cultivation in the city of San Francisco. I found the California cannabis laws listed by county here. Good news: I’m all good to grow! It’s legal to grow outdoors in San Francisco as long as your plants aren’t visible to the public. If I lived just 33 miles south in Palo Alto, I wouldn’t be allowed to grow outside. Disclaimer: individuals can still face restrictions by property owners, landlords, or homeowner associations in counties that have legalized outdoor cannabis cultivation.

Image of interactive map from: http://cannabusinesslaw.com/

WHERE TO BUY THE CLONES? I had heard great things about Harborside Dispensary in Oakland, so I headed over. Harborside’s the largest medical marijuana dispensary in the country. It serves over 200,000 registered patients. Harborside does more than just providing cannabis products to its patients; it even offers free classes and programs every day of the week — from cancer support groups to classes that help you learn how to grow your own plants.

The clones that I bought at Harborside.

There were so many clones strains to choose from. I ended up going with three Indica-dominant hybrids: Oregon Lemons, Bubba Kush, and Black Lime. I also got one Sativa-dominant hybrid — Tangie. I was advised to check out SeedFinder to learn all about my new plants.

Nels preparing the Humtea!

WHERE TO GET THE REST OF MY GROWING SUPPLIES? Oakland Garden Supply was just a three minute drive away. I was instantly greeted by Nels once I walked through the door. He generously gave me a free gallon of HumTea; I was instructed to use all of this today once I transplanted my clones. I hadn’t ever heard of giving tea to plants before, but I was digging it! Maybe I’ll come back soon for more…

He also set me up with biodegradable Geopots. He said that the fabric allows the roots to more freely grow and the extra water to more easily flow out. For my soil needs, I decided on Royal Gold Mendo Mix, which comes from Humboldt county. This stuff even has bat guano in it! It definitely smelled fresh, and I couldn’t wait to head home to get my hands dirty and my clones transplanted ASAP.

Wireless Sensor Tags and the Smart Yields app

LAST BUT NOT LEAST, THE TECHNOLOGY. I’m going to use the Smart Yields app and its associated wireless sensors. The sensors will allow me to wirelessly monitor my plants. Soil moisture, ambient light, temperature, and humidity levels will be tracked. The Smart Yields app will host all of the sensor data and serve as my digital growing journal and record-keeper. There are other growing apps out there, and I’ll make sure to try them out, too.

I can’t wait to start this growing experiment — wish me luck!

If you liked this, please click the 💜 button below!

Share this with your friends who grow or who may be thinking about growing. Have any questions? Don’t hesitate to reach out!

--

--

Liz
Agriculture 3.0

Passionate about technology, agriculture, and education!🌱📱🌞