Is There a Foolproof Cure for Hiccups?

The answer, from this former emergency room nurse, is a resounding YES!

Andrea Romeo RN, BN
Aha! Science

--

Woman in grey shirt covering her mouth and looking surprised
Photo: Pexels/Andrea Piacquadio

Emergency room nurses are like New York City cab drivers. There’s not much we haven’t seen. We just want to get you where you need to go and out of our hair as soon as possible (preferably without having to clean up any puke). We deal with way more drunk people than we’d like. We can get pretty jaded.

We’re not in the mood for any nonsense, okay?

The hiccups? Are you kidding me?

So, when a guy in his 30s had the gall to show up to my ER because he had … the hiccups? Seriously? They’d been going on for a while, but still. I was prepared to let him wait a looong time. And he did. At least he had the decency to look sheepish for being there.

The look of a man who’s been hiccupping for almost 24 hours is pretty much what you’d expect: the face of a man who’s very being yearns for death. Eventually, even I felt sorry for him. So, in the spirit of mercy, I gave him what I’m now giving you.

The 100% NEVER FAIL hiccup cure. ER nurse guaranteed.

Over the years, I’ve tried all the same classic hiccup “cures” you’ve probably heard of: drink a glass of water from the wrong side of the rim, hold your…

--

--

Andrea Romeo RN, BN
Aha! Science

I'm a nurse and freelance writer. I want to help people make sense of science with practical, compassionate health advice.