Ok, I Got Grammarly to Work

Amber Tetrick
Ahead of the Code
Published in
1 min readAug 16, 2020
So, is this thing working?

Ok, just when I thought I had given up, I got Grammarly to work. (Thank you Elyse for your post on Yammer.) Let’s see…

I am horrified. I have 17 “critical” suggestions, and 11 “Premium”.

I review my suggestions

Here is my problem with it: the suggestions are proofreading suggestions. They only improve the writing for mechanics. Maybe that is the function of Grammarly, but I guess I would want more. More interest, more finesse.

Also, it is discouraging… really. Looking at the side of my paper and see the red dots along the page makes me kind of mad. I would imagine a student getting really frustrated really fast. Maybe not though if they are looking for an “easy” fix for spelling, grammar, etc.

Wonder what the students would think?

This will be an interesting one to try. I might try this with a class and collect feedback on if they like it or not?

--

--

Amber Tetrick
Ahead of the Code

I teach Language Arts at Boise High School in Boise ID. We are located in the heart of downtown Boise and have a diverse and engaged student body.