The Ballads of Heartbreak

Ahmed Adeyanju
AhmedAdeyanju
Published in
2 min readOct 16, 2011

Our very first Sunday post on Esho-Ikoyi is by the incredibly talented Folorunso (@Moolah007). She shares some gripping and exacting un-thoughts. Enjoy a deep, somber start to this week, one that will be a very special one for us at Esho-Ikoyi. Please share your comments, (ahem) down below. :)

[caption id=”attachment_146" align=”aligncenter” width=”600" caption=”Anguish by Archan Nair”]

[/caption]

Her cry rang true
As true as the anguish that tore at her heart
Pain as raw as day
Pain without comprehension.

She could be heard a mile off
In neighbouring villages and in farmlands around
All who heard it knew
Death had struck again.

Terror filled the heart that felt
Dread, the ear that heard
For the clutches of death, cold and sure
Had snatched yet another
***
Cry me a river, let it flow to the sea
Join your tears with mine
Let’s beat our chests in grief, till we are sore
Lets lift our voices to heaven, seeking relief.

May Orisha-ewe, the goddess of children hear
May she hearken to our cry,
May she plead with Eledumare for me
As death has wronged me

Death has robbed me blind
Iku has cheated me of what’s mine
If Orisha-ewe doesn’t hear me, if she doesn’t hearken
Who will?
I say, should i even dare to ask
who will?…

--

--