What’s Up With Microsoft’s Stargate?

Should we take Microsoft's rumored $115 billion plan to build a supercomputer seriously?

Rui Alves
Ai-Ai-OH

--

Vector depiction of stargate.
Creative Commons image found on Pixabay

This year, April Fool’s Day came with the news that Microsoft and OpenAI had joined forces to build a $115 billion data center.

The name for this outlandish endeavor was “Project Stargate.”

I remember thinking to myself:

What an original branding initiative!

I wonder if it was Microsoft Copilot, or ChatGPT (OpenAI) that came up with that name.

I’ve always been fascinated by Egyptian mythology and culture, so I’m a big fan of Stargate SG-1, the television adaptation derived from the sci-fi feature film Stargate (1994).

The series follows a team of military and scientists in a top-secret project of the United States Air Force that uses an extraterrestrial device (Stargate) to move to other planets almost instantaneously.

At first, I thought this was nothing but a prank, but as the days passed, I kept reading more and more about Project Stargate.

Any analogy between the original Stargate and an AI-focused supercomputer with millions of GPUs sounds farfetched, but Stargate does have a nice ring to it and reminds me of another…

--

--

Rui Alves
Ai-Ai-OH

Language teacher, linguist, life coach, published author (joined the Army and worked for the EU). A publisher, digital ronin, musician and alchemist of sound.