My AI Persona

Author_Grant.Tate
Explorations in AI

--

I just wrote a newsletter article for www.paradigmassociates.us, “Do AI Customer Service Apps Provide Better and Quicker Service than Real People?” It’s written in a whimsical style, more like the real me than some of the more formal pieces I often write.

The article’s source offers some engaging lessons on AI use for writing.

A few months back, I embarked on a personal experiment, designing “The Grant App.” It was a venture I thought might pique the interest of my family and others, offering a glimpse into my thoughts on various topics and the advice I might give to tackle a problem.

I collected files from my database and added them to ChatGPT to make a customized app:

  • Articles written over the years
  • PowerPoints about topics long forgotten, resumes and personal profiles from various jobs and roles
  • Pictures from travels around the world
  • The entire 375-page manuscript from my book

At the end of the process, I began to engage with the app, asking it questions. The responses were surprisingly familiar, echoing my own thoughts and advice. The testing process continued, with me constantly asking what more can be added to the app.

Yesterday, the people who produce the newsletter, sent an email asking for articles for this month. I had two in mind, so I set out to write some initial ideas and lay the foundation for the articles. ChatGPT helped in that process, of course, by helping to outline an article, critiquing it, suggesting changes, and, yes, even writing the article.

But wait. Could The Grant App write the articles for me in my own style? Of course. The article “Do AI Customer Service Apps Provide Better and Quicker Service than Real People?” was the result.

What are the implications if AI can reproduce the work and the reasoning of a specific natural person? As you can imagine, researchers and others are working on such applications. Imagine if someone five or six generations from now could talk with a hologram of you and have it respond in your own voice, just as you would when physically alive.

The reality of training AI to be like you lies in the amount and quality of data available to train the model. What does your documentation, or perhaps your social media record, say about you. Would you want to train an AI app with it?

--

--

Author_Grant.Tate
Explorations in AI

Grant Tate is an author, thought leader, confidential advisor, and idea explorer in Charlottesville, VA. His latest book is “Hand on the Shoulder.”