I’m not a plagiarist, I am an AI prompt engineer!

Christopher Collins
AI and Education
Published in
4 min readMar 16, 2023

--

Is using AI to pass open book exams ethical?

As an early adopter of OpenAI, I have seen firsthand the power and potential of artificial intelligence in the academic world. While other students were goofing off or simply sticking to the narrative of learning what they were told to read, I was using AI months before the press were even talking about ChatGPT or academic institutions had begun publically discussing banning it.

I was reading technology articles and current affairs to stay ahead of the curve. I knew that AI would one day play a pivotal role in the future of work, and I wanted to be at the forefront of this emerging field.

However, I am also aware of the debates surrounding the use of AI in exams and the concerns about the ethics of using technology to pass tests. As such, I want to make it clear that students who use AI to pass open-book online exams are not engaging in plagiarism, but rather taking advantage of the technology available to them.

Using an AI algorithm to generate responses to exam questions is no different than using a calculator to help with complex mathematical calculations. The output produced by AI algorithms is not the same as any pre-existing work and cannot be considered plagiarism. In fact, AI may even be more efficient than traditional search…

--

--

Christopher Collins
AI and Education

I write about coding, crypto, the tech future,please follow my publication https://medium.com/aiwriters/ 😀