Everything You Need to Know About Using — seed Commands in Midjourney

John Walter 📣Therapy and creativity
AI Art Creators

--

For those who want to control their AI Art bot.

This article has arisen from a discussion online about exerting some sort of control over the results you get from your prompts in Midjourney. I have been aware of seeds and how some people use them, but to be honest, I have not been that interested in using them myself. I embrace the randomness of the results I get from MJ and use that as part of my creative process. It always seemed like using a seed number was reducing MJ to a predictable, controllable tool. As a jazz musician, it would be like replacing my bass player and drummer with a rhythm box, or computerised midi-controlled thingy. I would gain predictability and reliability, but I would lose spontaneity and any feeling of exchange, connection with the process, or excitement. I would be bored within minutes, pack up my piano, and run away to join the circus.

All that aside, lets launch into it and see what they do.

Everything you need to know about seeds.

If you quote a seed number in your prompt you can be sure that if you created the same prompt with the same seed number you would get, almost, the same result every time you ran it.

a bot being controlled…

--

--

John Walter 📣Therapy and creativity
AI Art Creators

Counsellor, jazz musician, AI Art nerd, bereaved father. Writing about my experience. Listening to yours. https://johnwaltercounsellor.com/