Mastering Creative Consistency: A First Look into Midjourney’s Style Reference Feature

Revolutionise Your Content’s Style without Overloading Your Prompts

John Walter 📣Therapy and creativity
AI Art Creators
Published in
7 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

All images created by the author in midjourney

I don’t use the words revolutionary or game-changing lightly, but I am a little bit excited about this new tool. It takes the emphasis off words in the prompt, which can be misinterpreted in so many ways. From now on the emphasis has shifted to images themselves as being the most important input.

I'll begin by showing what it does and how it changes prompt development. I will then run through how to do it and give a bunch of examples.

The old man with a sword

I borrowed the first image from the public gallery.

Except this one which I found in the Midjourney gallery

I used it as a normal image reference in a simple prompt.

A chinese girl tall beautiful

This produced variations on the bearded lady theme you can see in the second image. The style is copied well, but MJ also references the content to combine an old man and a girl.

--

--

John Walter 📣Therapy and creativity
AI Art Creators

Counsellor, jazz musician, AI Art nerd, bereaved father. Writing about my experience. Listening to yours. https://johnwaltercounsellor.com/