TraceTogether UI/UX Study —
or, why I gave my personal details without a fuss

Joel Tan
AI2 Labs
Published in
2 min readNov 17, 2020

TL;DR: TraceTogether has an excellent user onboarding experience

My problem

I am very paranoid about sharing my personal data. I have dropped out of many sign-up processes that require me to submit my personal details (e.g. signing up to crypto platforms, KYC).

What is TraceTogether

TraceTogether is a mobile application which the Singaporean Government had implemented to allow for better contact tracing in response to the COVID-19 pandemic in Singapore.

It works by exchanging short-distance Bluetooth signals between phones to detect other participating TraceTogether users in close proximity. Records of such encounters are stored locally on each user’s phone.

No escape

To prepare for Phase 3, I finally downloaded TraceTogether app today after resisting for 7 months. I was not looking forward to it.

Turnaround

To my surprise, every step of the sign up process was delightful. Screenshots and delightful touch points below.

Aftermath

While I am still uneasy with sharing my personal data, the thoughtful UX design and excellent copywriting made the sign-up process painless. Excellent work by the TraceTogether team.

Found this post useful? Smash the *clap* button below to help others find this post.

Have you experienced an AWESOME onboarding experience lately? Let me know in the comments below!

--

--

Joel Tan
AI2 Labs
Editor for

Product Manager at Yoozoo AI Innovation Lab. We’re hiring!