šŸŒŒ How Doing Nothing 10x My Productivity

Lite
Life Matters
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2024

āœ‹ Wait, Doing Nothing is Productive?

Even the biggest billionaireā€™s like Elon Musk and Jeff Bezos find that their best ideas are formed when they are doing chores or taking a shower. This is no coincidence, as it has a direct relationship with the Dutch concept Niksen, which translates to doing nothing or being idle. Itā€™s the intentional practice of allowing stillness and freedom. Niksen also relates to the practice of Stoicism (something I just realized as I was writing this), as it is quite important to practice stillness while being Stoic. I now have more ideas, more things I want to explore, and overall a more of everything.

šŸ—¾ Let Minds Wander

A study done by the University of Central Lancashire revealed the importance of boredom. As our minds arenā€™t occupied with one specific task, they are left free to wander, leading our minds to create ideas or solve problems. This can be done by playing an instrument, walking, running or even daydreaming, but itā€™s all a crucial part in letting our minds explore the map. Such regular idleness allows your brain to do a short reset, maintaining a consistent performance level.

I mainly scheduled walks (even inside the room, though outside is definitely better), and daydreaming time. I took some photos while looking out of the window, all of which let my mind freely wander.

By AI

šŸ«µ Should You Do It?

Short answer: yes. Even spending 5 minutes practicing Niksen can do wonders to your productivity. In this world of hustle culture where every minute should be productive or helpful, Niksen provides a new refreshing breath. In fact Iā€™m so confident in this that I dare you to get of your devices and take a short walk. Come back and tell me how it went.

āž”ļø Next Up: šŸ§˜ How I Meditated For Two Weeks

šŸ•› Quote of the Week

ā€œThinking is generally thought of as doing nothing in a production-oriented society, and doing nothing is hard to do.ā€- Rebecca Solnit, Wanderlust: A History of Walking

--

--

Lite
Life Matters

Philosophy | Life | Productivity | Tech | Books | See more of my journey by clicking the follow button.