How I gained 100 followers in past month

Giri Prasath.D
Life Matters
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2024

Today marked my 4th anniversary on this platform. I initially joined Medium in 2021 to read articles for academic purposes and didn’t take writing blogs on Medium seriously for the first two and a half years. After completing college, I began writing blogs related to my academics on the platform.

I noticed an increase in my followers in June 2023, gaining seven new followers in that month alone. This encouraged me to write more on the platform. By December 2023, my follower count had doubled, reaching 100 new followers in that month alone.

Tip 1: To attract followers on Medium, comment on interesting articles you like. Highlight the words that resonated with you in your comment; it will redirect people to your account.

Tip 2: Search for publications and contribute to them. This exposes your blogs to a larger audience, and new followers may discover and read your stories.

Tip 3: Identify your niche and follow influential individuals in that field. Follow them to learn new skills, and use related hashtags to expand your reach.

Stories may not go viral on the next day, but patience is key — they can become viral one day. Write on Medium within your niche, and share your unique perspective. My most viewed article followed this approach, highlighting the power of staying true to your niche and the eventual impact it can have.

First, I noticed how Medium works. I can confidently say that we can’t define an algorithm for how Medium operates; it is entirely based on your decisions. If you engage with a particular topic on Medium, the platform will display related topics on the homepage the next day. I followed some people to learn more about it.

  1. Paul Rose is one of them, providing passive income tips. From her, I learned how to earn money from Canva,creative fabrica and teachers pay teachers
  2. Poonam Sharma offers insights into selling digital products on Gumroad and turning your Medium followers into clients.
  3. Dr.SS informed me about the happenings in the Medium Partner Program in India.
  4. Har Narayan is my mentor, Check his Medium profile; you’ll discover your niche. I follow his newsletter.
  5. Hazel Paradise is my favorite medium writer, from her i learned how to write books in amazon Kdp.
  6. Manish Dangi👻 — He posts 3 blogs in a day and sharing tips to grow in the medium

These are my favorite Medium writers. Finally, I should write about your interested topic on Medium; one day, you will become more famous on the platform.

Follow me Giri Prasath.D on medium.

--

--

Giri Prasath.D
Life Matters

Biomedical engineer by Degree 👨‍🎓| Data Analyst by Profession |🧑‍💻||Python||Sql||AWS||Neo4j||Knime||Alteryx