What I've learned so far

Aidan McMeekin
Aidan’s work
Published in
2 min readJan 30, 2023

When I started this class I really did not know what to expect. I did not know exactly what kind of work I would be asked to do or what exactly was expected of me and my work. I was excited to learn more about how information can be viewed and how where you view it will show you a different perspective of whatever it is you want to read about. When I learn to view more information in a different light it slowly changes my perspective of the events. What we have been learning the past week in class about how much the internet has changed things over time, is really shocking, to say the least. I did not understand what Web 1.0 meant at first or the difference between 1.0 and 2.0. The differences are shocking I knew about the old internet being a dial-up tone but I did not expect to see what a big difference it was. People had to learn how to code just to use the basic functions of the internet such as chat features. I am an avid gamer and I know some of the old games are really weird when it comes to how you play them. After I learned what a change the internet and tech have made over the past 30 years, I went back and looked up some of the really old computer games and saw that for a few of them, it was basically harder than doing anything in real life such as a space simulator game. This game makes you do all the math yourself and learn almost everything you need to know to launch a real rocket, this is not what I expected and it has become very fun to see how things used to be and how much simpler things are now.

--

--

Aidan McMeekin
Aidan’s work

Student at hpu working to improve my writing and speaking through my posts