Don’t waste your time. Do the right thing.

Ramon Cabreira
AIESEC in DLSU-M

--

So there I was, two in morning, on my bed with my laptop just scrolling through facebook. I just finished watching several movies in a row, my brain was fried. As I was scrolling, I saw this article about a girl who took several online courses during the quarantine. The article said that she took one everyday and that she wanted to stay productive and keep learning while she was at home. This made me think.

“What have I been up to this whole quarantine?”

“Okay so I’ve been eating, yes, watching movies, okay… playing video games, shucks”

That’s when it hit me. I’ve been wasting most of my time doing things that don’t really matter (well okay, except maybe eating). It also hit me that there are millions of people who are suffering because of this epidemic, they may not be directly affected by COVID-19 but their livelihoods are. That’s when I told myself that I shouldn’t waste my time. This was not a dead-end but an opportunity. The next day, I started looking up on film courses and I just finished my first one and I plan on doing more after. I felt productive after months of being unproductive. This is currently my definition of productivity though this may vary for others right now.

For the people who have been doing the opposite, the people who are still working hard everyday that can’t catch a break. Maybe it’s time to slow down a bit. It’s important to take a break. These are hard times and it’s important to breathe a little, so slow down. Productivity does mean to produce quality work, but how can you if you’re beat. You must not forget to take care of yourself because at the end of the day, we are all just people and we need to rest.

Productivity can mean a lot of things these days and it’s important to understand your definition of being productive in this time. Either to work harder or to take a break, make good use of your time, and do the right thing.

--

--