Finding Meaning & Embracing Uncertainty

Chan Sabine
AIESEC in DLSU-M
5 min readJun 6, 2020

--

Since the emergence of COVID-19, the quarantine has gotten to all of us, and has surely caused disruptions in our everyday lives. For most of us, these changes and disruptions have consisted of school and work suspension, being under house arrest and being unable to travel. In short, before complaining about our current situation, we should realize that we are fortunate enough that these disruptions have all been nothing close to life-threatening. I definitely can’t speak for everyone in terms of how we’re dealing with this quarantine, but one thing I know for sure is that we can all seize this opportunity to discover meaning within these surreal circumstances.

Ever since I was younger, I have never dealt well with change. I tend to stick to a routine, and find serenity and comfort in familiar things, because it gives me a strong sense of control over my surroundings and my life, and sticking to the same routines and detailed schedule is something that I have the ability to regulate, and in doing so soothes my system whenever I feel stressed. However, my last several years of high school brought about challenges that undeniably disarrayed the sense of familiarity as well as the habitual aspects of my life that I was used to, and life presented itself with changes in all forms: transformation, transition, adjustment, development and difference. It was incredibly difficult at first; the feeling of your life suddenly turning upside down and having to deal with many changes all at once is definitely a lot to handle all at once. After months of feeling hopeless and doubting my ability to adapt to all the changes in my life, I gradually started to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Little by little, every day, life would throw me a sign to show me that all of that change was giving me new learnings, opportunities to grow and a newfound strength I didn’t know I had in me. These were shown to me in all ways, shapes and forms, whether it be from the rekindling of old childhood friendships to rediscovering my passion for dancing. Through all those new blessings, whether small or big, I knew one thing for sure: that all of those would never have happened if it hadn’t been for the change I experienced prior.

These days, it’s quite difficult not to feel frustrated, bored and angry at our current situation, staying at home everyday and not being able to do the things we used to do pre-COVID. A piece of advice: instead of lamenting and complaining (which we all tend to do), try using this unique experience to interpret and determine what is important in your life, what you take for granted and should be thankful for, as well as how to come out of this period of uncertainty with more clarity, strength and a more positive outlook on life.

The first main thing that I have come to realize as of recent is the impermanence of life, and how most of us take our lives for granted. With all the news flooding in of daily death tolls all over the world, it reminds us of the fact that life is temporary, and time is fleeting. Coming to this realization could serve as an effective method in freeing ourselves from all fear, anxiety and doubt in order for us to live our lives to the fullest and make the most out of every single day, in whatever way we can. We should take a moment once in a while to acknowledge the fragility of life, as well as reflect on how we’ve been spending our daily lives. Making the most out of every day is not necessarily limited to being productive and bombarding yourself with work; this also can be done with self-care, relaxation and finding simple joys in your leisure activities. At the end of every day, ask yourself, “Did I make the most out of my day today?” and if the answer is no, reflect on what hindered you from living your day to the fullest.

The second understanding that I have gained from these several months under lockdown is gratitude. Every time I find myself starting to complain about being bored in the house and being unable to go out, I remind myself to see the positive instead of the negative, in that I am healthy, safe and lucky enough to be blessed with a home and a loving family to pass the time with in quarantine, which are all things that not everyone is fortunate enough to be or have. Transforming your mindset to seeing all the things I am lucky to have during this pandemic and being thankful for them has truly changed the way I go about my day and my overall attitude towards life. We should all make it a habit to recognize at least 5–10 things that we are grateful for everyday; this way, we get to practice mindfulness and optimism in our daily lives.

In short, life will go on no matter what happens. After this whole COVID-19 pandemic has died down, whenever that may be, it would be a shame to look back on this time and see it as a negative, fruitless period filled with regret over wasted opportunities. On the contrary, our goal should be to come out of this experience with a more positive and healthy outlook on life, along with a newfound sense of gratitude and appreciation for everything that life has to offer. Despite the inevitable pain, grief and challenges everyone has faced and has yet to face, recognizing the impermanence of life and practicing gratitude will aid in creating meaning for ourselves during this difficult time, as well as teach us to impart and spread positivity to move forward throughout uncertainty.

--

--