Made by:

Physics of Growth

Miggy Francisco
AIESEC in DLSU-M
Published in
3 min readApr 25, 2020

--

Heyyyyyy! I’m Miggy and I am also a Physics major and, immediately after saying that this the dialogue that follows:

“Physics? isn’t it hard?”

“Yep. It’s outstandingly difficult.” I answer

“so.. why?”

“Physics helps explain why (most) things happen.”

Knowing this made me curious and in that curiosity, I’ve noticed is how applicable some physics concepts are to things beyond this field of study. One of which is our growth and development as people, which I will discuss here.

Here I’ve only highlighted some concepts that we are all familiar of but there are more concepts that could be applied that I may have not been able to cover at the time of writing this.

Don’t worry there isn’t any math here.

Inertia

Newton’s First Law of Motion states that unless an outside force is applied a body will remain at rest.

We are all familiar with this from our early science classes. In order to move something that is at rest, you have to apply a force.

This means that in order to grow a force has to initiate it. This may come in the form of another person inspiring you, or a situation that forces you to adapt, or even just yourself.

Friction

Friction is a force that opposes an object in motion. In order to overcome a friction, a sufficiently strong enough force is needed

Have you every tried to push something uphill? Medj Hirap noh? The force of gravity and the surface itself opposes the movement.

Now that you’ve got things moving and you’re growing, you’ll be faced with problems that will resist your growth. In order to keep growing, you have to keep working to overcome the friction of the different problems you’ll face.

Momentum

Momentum is mass in motion. The more massive and the fast an object gets, a greater force is needed to stop it.

Cool! Now you’ve grown so much now and you’re growing fast. At this point, little problems barely affect you anymore since you’re able to address them easily.
High momentum, if left unchecked, can be bad because you can easily lose control. If this happens, a strong force is needed to help you regain control. This force can come in the form of feedback, interventions and reality checks.

So what?

I thought about it this way because this allowed me to come up with a logical approach to different problems I faced as I grew. Approaching your growth as you would approach a Physics Problem certainly made it more organized.

Start with what’s Given: What are the things involved?
Next, understand what you want to get. What do you want to achieve?
Then find the right formula or method. There will be a lot of times where you won’t have everything you need to achieve your goals but if you understand what you have, you can find a way to get them.
Lastly, when you make a mistake (and you will make a lot), understand what went wrong.

This way suits me but maybe it doesn’t suit you. I highly encourage you to find your own way. Admittedly, I’m no genius but I do enjoy discussing things like this, so if you wanna talk about it (or anything) feel free to hmu or discuss it in the comments!

--

--