Course: Intro to AI from Udacity

Jacob Younan
AI From Scratch
Published in
1 min readFeb 9, 2017

Eventually you can only learn so much from reading articles, listening to podcasts and reading books. A basic curriculum that builds some foundations felt like a wise move, so I started taking the free Intro to Artificial Intelligence course at Udacity.

Screenshot of Lesson 3 on ‘Probability in AI’

I’m only a few lessons in thus far, and it’s pretty challenging for someone who hasn’t dealt with statistical probabilities since first year undergrad. That said, the curriculum includes more explanations of essential concepts and terminology (or what I assume are essentials).

I’m still very early and very far from knowing how the basic Bayes Nets I’m looking at ladder up to machine learning. For now, I can only comment that the material is interesting, the platform is easy to use and the frequent quizzes help you solidify what you’re learning as you go.

I’ll update this as I get further into the course’s 22 lessons.

--

--