Defining Scratch

Jacob Younan
AI From Scratch
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2017

A cursory search for the phrase ‘from scratch’ will lead you to discover that the term originally referred to a line scratched in the ground where someone stands before something happens in a sport like boxing, cricket or a foot race.

In golf it denotes starting with no handicap or advantage.

As it relates to me, both of the above generally apply (though I certainly could use an advantage). I’m at the start and don’t have any material advantage compared to most reading this post.

My purpose for documenting how I’m going from scratch to somewhat literate about the field of artificial intelligence is to help me and help you. By collecting these things in one place and reflecting on them occasionally, I’m betting I’ll make better progress and retain more of what I read.

I’m making it public because I’m not alone in trying to wrap my head around this topic. More specifically, I’m not alone in coming at this from the perspective of a ‘lay person’ — not an engineer, developer, neuroscientist, actuary or philosopher for whom I would guess the topic is more accessible.

I am not an expert and will not be one for the foreseeable future, so take this only as someone trying to put the pieces together. If you’re someone like that, then this is for you, and if you aren’t, feel free to read, comment or simply take pleasure in my naivety.

--

--