Teaching the Next Generation of Coders

Anant Matta
AiGoLearning
Published in
4 min readMay 17, 2021

A Teen Teacher’s Story — Rafael Almeida

Rafael Almeida

Rafael Almeida is a sixteen-year-old sophomore, and yet he is currently teaching multiple coding classes for children aged 5–15. This interview was conducted over zoom and has been lightly edited for clarity and brevity.

Tell me a little about yourself, Rafael?

“Of course, I was born in Brazil, and then in 2016, I went to live in the United States. This is also when I first started to get into coding. I also work out, compete in competitive code jam, and play video games as well.”

Competitive Code Jam, what is that?

“It’s kind of like competitive coding, and it’s one of Google’s coding competitions that they host every year. Like competitive coding, and it’s one of Google’s coding competitions that they host every year.”

Interesting, when did you first get into coding?

“It was in the 7th or 8th grade, when I first moved to the United States. One of my cousins showed me what coding was, and I really enjoyed it. I’ve done it ever since.”

What made you want to teach children how to code with AigoLearning?

“It was for community service. “A classmate introduced me to Aigo Learning actually.” It has now been over one month since I started teaching students. It’s important that children learn to code, and I’m happy to help them learn.”

What was the interview process like to become a teacher for the organization?

“It was not a super long or lengthy process. All I needed to do was complete a few forms, then there was an evaluation. After that there was a demo day with Daniel (Aigo member) and I was ready to start classes.”

What was the evaluation?

“It was pretty simple. I had to make a calculator, which is a binary function and it was not hard. I was able to create it pretty quickly and then I had passed the evaluation.”

What classes and programming language do you teach?

“My favorite coding language is Python because that’s what I started with and what I know best.” Because of this I teach classes in Python, and both of my classes have four students each. It’s through zoom of course, and they are all younger kids, below the age of 12.”

Do you interact with the parents of students at all?

“I do sometimes, and most of the interactions are positive. ‘It’s funny though, because sometimes I can see parents watching their children through zoom.’ There is also interaction through class reports, as well as recommendations for the students.”

What do you think of Aigo Learning’s mission to teach children how to code?

“It’s a noble goal.” This is something that kids can use for the rest of their lives, and it’s important for them to learn. Especially as the world gets more globalized and connected, learning how to code is critical. Parents recognize this, and that’s why they pay for the classes.”

What suggestions do you have for the program?

I would like to see more diversity within the program, and “students of all backgrounds.” Also, It would be good if the program continued to grow, so everyone could have a chance to learn how to code.

I know there is time, but where do you want to study in college?

“I’m not exactly sure, but I would like to study computer science and cyber security. It will be a difficult journey, but for those who learn coding such as Rafael here, ‘The World is Yours’”

For anyone interested in becoming a part of AiGoLearning or take part in any of its initiatives, you can find them at https://aigolearning.org.

--

--