Drop the Kindle or Drop the Book

The endless debate of books vs Kindle.

John Abi Farah
Aimee's Blog
3 min readMar 23, 2018

--

I learnt how to read at a very young age, and ever since then I fell in love with reading. From little pop-up books to fables, from comics to substantial novels, even encyclopedias. As time flew by, I kept every single book I had ever read, but I also embraced the new age and the technology it brought with it. I have a large collection of books now, but I also have a Kindle.

What’s the difference though? Are e-books, e-readers, and Kindle truly better than printed books? I kept going back and forth; sometimes I prefer my Kindle, other times it just feels nicer to hold an actual book in my hands. But after a couple of years of alternating and not being able to decide which is better, I realized that it’s time I weighed the pros and cons of both.

Portability:
Sure, I can take a book or two with me when I have some travel plans, but can I take 50? A big advantage e-readers have over books is that I could take all my e-books with me anywhere. I can literally fit tens and hundreds of e-books on just one Kindle that weighs as much as one tiny book. But then again, why would I want to take 50 books with me? Especially if I’ve already read most of them. Point for books.

Accessibility:
Suddenly I’m in the mood to read a mystery novel, or maybe catch up on a series of books I was following. It’s as easy as going online, buying the e-book, and voila! Instant access… if I have Wi-Fi. Still, if I want a printed book, I’d have to physically walk to the library or book shop to get it. Even ordering it online could take a couple of days at best with express delivery. But honestly, the best part about selecting what book I wanted to buy was shuffling through them in the library. Maybe a lot prefer the convenience of sitting in bed scrolling through books they could be interested in. However, the fun for me is holding each book, looking at the back cover, shuffling through the pages a bit, and then walking out with it. It’s an experience worth the drive.

Convenience:
Being as small as it is, I really enjoyed taking my Kindle with me everywhere. To the office, to the beach, even if I wanted to go on a picnic or hike, I’d have something to read. Slowly but surely, that all changed. A Kindle or any e-reader is not exactly cheap and losing it or damaging it became a constant concern. Add to that, if a friend was interested in a book I read, I couldn’t exactly give him my Kindle. Loaning e-books on Kindle is an option, however it’s a very complicated one with a lot of drawbacks. There’s a certain warmth to lending an actual book to a friend. Not only is it only easier, simpler and quicker, it also feels like you’re giving a worthwhile experience.

Learning:
There’s an intangible but clear link between physical gestures and perception. Somehow the things we do to books, writing in margins, folding corners, underlining sentences; they all help us understand and learn better. Sure, some new e-readers might have that option, but there’s no physical gesture, no muscle memory, it’s just not the same.

By now, it’s pretty clear where I stand. There’s definitely pros and cons to both, but for me, the paper itself makes reading more pleasurable. As much as I tried, using my Kindle felt like using an ATM machine. It’s just not captivating. Not to mention that glancing at a library full of books that you have read; each trigger a memory, an emotion, or even a reaction from your friends “wow you have this book!” A Kindle however is just…a Kindle.

In any case, whether you prefer e-books or printed books, reading is always fun, beneficial, and even life changing. So grab your Kindle, grab your book, and don’t stop reading.

--

--