User Test Report

Xiaoxi Yuan
Aiming for ‘WOW’
3 min readMar 18, 2019

2019.3.18

Last few days, I did low-fi prototype user test with four people. I used my phone screen. Three of them tested in my school, one tested in New Museum( the design example I am using for my design).

The four users are Sumeja Tulic(Art and Writing background); Zelong Xia(Parsons Graduate); Johny Vino(SVA Graduates); Yaxu Han(SVA Graduate).

The low-fi prototype I used:

What I Want to Know

  1. The design is fluent to visitors.
  2. The interpretation could help visitors understand the artworks.
  3. The language/ content works for visitors.

Role Play

I set up a user scenario to three testers who are not in the New Museum. And give them a role set to let them imagine they are in this exhibition. The two testers have been to this exhibition, so it’s good for them believe the user scenario.

Test Feedback

Concept

  1. “These interpretations make me more clear about the artworks; I WILL USE YOUR DESIGN WHEN I AM IN CONTEMPORARY ART EXHIBITION.”
  2. Opinions — I may want to use this when I take a rest, or after going home.
  3. “AR. Maybe use AR to indicate the specific part on the artworks when the explanation talks about.”
  4. There are three different types information in the App. Interpretations, Exhibition Order/ Logic, Anecdote(interesting stories related the exhibition), Visitor Opinion Sharing.
  5. Choose preference for each exhibition or each individual.
  6. Who will work for the content? Museum educators.
  7. When visitors move from first to second piece of artwork, put some interesting stories about the artist. (According to how long the visitors did not interact with the system?)

Design

  1. Choose Button

Redesign button questions, ask as a real guide. Maybe add “what do you think…?”

How many times do visitors need to select?

2. Change the back button into homepage button.

3. Different information frame should be in different shape

For Next Step

  1. I need finish the hi-fi prototype, let my users all test in New Museum. I need make appointments with my friends and ask for strangers. (Potential tester: Xinyan Wang, Anqi Ni, Janine, Peter…)
  2. I need ask questions when they ask me question, e.g.,”what is the button for?” I should ask them “ what do you think this button for?”. Instead of giving them explanations immediately.
  3. Record video when they testing.
  4. Notification feature.

--

--