AI Analyzes My Original Poem (With Great Insight)

Nicole Brugel
𝐀𝐈 𝐦𝐨𝐧𝐤𝐬.𝐢𝐨
4 min readJul 16, 2023

My Original Poem: To sit upon the cheek of God and hope for better views there./I looked around with tear-filled eyes and tripped from too much blinking./If I was tall and full of Space the World would be my oyster./And yet, instead, I stare at It with such a nameless terror./The world is round and full with creatures wandering forever./Sometimes they wander all alone and sometimes they’re together./When I touch water it breaks like glass and fizzes down my wrist here./The mountain range will never end and almost all remains unknown./I opened up my eyes this morning and the World was not my home./I see you looking up at me from so very far away, dear./I’m drenched with drizzle dripping from my lashes and my ear lobes./Just dry me off and tuck me in and find your seat on my wet cheek./I’ll comfort you while brushing all the teardrops as they leak.

My Prompt: I asked AI to analyze this original poem of mine by prompting “Analyze this poem: [my poem]”. Here is the AI’s response to my prompt/poem.

AI response: The poem you provided is a contemplative piece that explores themes of perspective, longing, and a sense of displacement. It employs vivid imagery and emotional language to convey the speaker’s thoughts and feelings. Let’s analyze it stanza by stanza:

Stanza 1: To sit upon the cheek of God and hope for better views there.

This line suggests a desire for a higher vantage point, a longing to see the world from a different perspective. The speaker yearns for a better understanding or insight.

I looked around with tear-filled eyes and tripped from too much blinking.

Here, the tears in the speaker’s eyes and the act of blinking excessively imply emotional vulnerability and perhaps a sense of overwhelm. The speaker’s attempt to observe and comprehend the world is hindered by their emotional state.

Stanza 2: If I was tall and full of Space the World would be my oyster.

This line expresses a wish for greatness or vastness. The speaker believes that if they were elevated or expansive, they could fully embrace and conquer the world.

And yet instead I stare at It with such a nameless terror.

Despite the longing for a grander perspective, the speaker admits to feeling a nameless terror when confronted with the world. This suggests a deep unease or fear that arises from their current limited viewpoint.

Stanza 3: The world is round and full of creatures wandering forever.

Here, the poem acknowledges the vastness and perpetual nature of the world. It emphasizes the continuous movement and exploration of being within it.

Sometimes, they wander all around and sometimes they’re together.

This line suggests the unpredictable nature of human existence. People can either wander aimlessly or come together in various ways, highlighting the diversity of experiences and relationships.

Stanza 4: When I touch water it breaks like glass and fizzes down my wrist here.

This line utilizes simile to describe the speaker’s interaction with water. It implies fragility and transience, as well as the speaker’s sensory experience of water slipping through their fingers.

The mountain range will never end and almost all remains unknown.

This line emphasizes the vastness and mystery of nature. The never-ending mountain range represents the vastness of the world, while the unknown aspects imply the limit of human understanding.

Stanza 5: I opened up my eyes this morning and the world was not my home.

The speaker awakens to a sense of alienation or disconnection from the world. They do not feel a sense of belonging or familiarity in their surroundings.

I see you looking up at me from so very far away, dear.

This line suggests the presence of another person who is perceived as distant or separated from the speaker. It conveys a yearning for connection and intimacy.

Stanza 6: I’m drenched with drizzle dripping from my lashes and my ear lobes.

This vivid imagery evokes a sense of being emotionally overwhelmed or deeply affected. The speaker’s tears are compared to drizzle, emphasizing their emotional state.

Just dry me off and tuck me in and find your seat on my wet cheek.

The speaker seeks comfort and support from the distant individual mentioned earlier. They long for solace and security, as symbolized by being “tucked in” and offering a place on their cheek.

I’ll comfort you while brushing all the teardrops as they leak.

In this final line, the speaker promises to provide solace and support to the distant individual. They offer emotional comfort

Me: “Continue your thought.”

AI: to the person, assuring them that they will be there to brush away their tears. This suggests a reciprocal relationship of emotional support and empathy. Despite the speaker’s own emotional vulnerability, they are willing to offer comfort and reassurance to the other person.

Overall, the poem explores the themes of longing, perspective, and emotional vulnerability. The speaker yearns for a different viewpoint, a higher understanding of the world. They express a sense of displacement and unease with their current perspective, feeling both overwhelmed and disconnected. There is a desire for connection and intimacy, symbolized by the distant individual mentioned throughout the poem. The vivid imagery and emotional language used in the poem evoke a strong sense of emotion and introspection.

My Response to the AI Analysis:

I was shocked by how apt this analysis was for my poem, and I believe the AI did a great job with providing me with insight about my own work. I highly recommend using AI analysis to prompt self-evaluation of written work.

**To complete this project, I used the GPT 4 processor from the premium version of the Ask AI app on my phone.**

--

--