How much did I Earn using Midjourney and My Experience with it at its Peak

Jeshurun Jones
𝐀𝐈 𝐦𝐨𝐧𝐤𝐬.𝐢𝐨
4 min readSep 19, 2023

--

Photo by Sanket Mishra: https://www.pexels.com/photo/midjourney-ai-produces-a-proprietary-artificial-intelligence-man-holding-a-smartphone-iphone-17153194/

Hey there everyone, Today, I want to share my journey with a well-known AI tool called Midjourney. Brace yourself, because it’s been quite a rollercoaster ride.

So, what is Midjourney, you ask? Midjourney is a generative text-to-image application that uses artificial intelligence to create stunning visuals based on the word suggestions you offer. Multi-prompts are a feature of Midjourney that allows you to consider two or more separate concepts individually using:: as a separator. By separating prompts, you can assign relative importance to different elements of a prompt.

Picture this: It was the midst of Midjourney’s Peak, a time when it seemed like everyone and their pet dogs were making money online. I stumbled upon this promising platform and thought, “Why not give it a shot?” Little did I know that this journey would be full of ups, downs, and a few hard stops.

And then comes Adobe stock and you wonder what is it? Adobe Stock is a professional stock assets agency that offers a collection of over 200 million high-quality images, illustrations, and vector graphics. It is seamlessly integrated into Adobe systems, mainly in the creative apps on the Adobe Creative Cloud platform. Adobe Stock provides designers and businesses with access to millions of high-quality curated and royalty-free photos, videos, illustrations, vector graphics, 3D assets, and templates for all their creative projects. You can purchase Adobe Stock as a multi-asset subscription, and various subscription packages are available.

Adobe stock was all good and heavy until they started accepting Ai generated images which surely was followed up by a huge backlash from the creative community. I mean this is expected as The founder of Midjourney, David Holz, has admitted that the company never received consent for the use of hundreds of millions of images it used to train its AI, which has outraged many photographers and creators.

At that time when I purchased my Midjourney subscription, I set aside my morals and All I had on my mind was making money out of this tool and being ahead of the game and everyone. And did it work out in the end? to be precise sort of..

During the peak of my Midjourney experience, I did manage to make some money. I can’t tell you how exciting it was to see that first sale notification pop up on my screen. I felt like I was on cloud nine, even though my artistic skills might be better described as “hobbyist.”

But before you start picturing me lounging on a beach with a cocktail in one hand and a laptop in the other, let me burst that bubble. While I did make some money, it barely covered the cost of my Midjourney subscription. Yes, you read that right. The subscription fees practically devoured my earnings.

Now you might wonder how I even managed to pull off making some money with this. As I mentioned above using Adobe stock as they started accepting Ai generated images I just knew this was going to be my boom in the industry. so I started generating images using Midjourney and started uploading 5–10 images a day on Adobe Stock and continued this for a whole month. during this phase, I did face some technical issues such as the approval time for each image just getting longer and longer it started at seven days then later almost two whole weeks And there were a lot of rejections which surely made me improve my prompting skills back then. In total, I only had 106 Assets on my Adobe stock portfolio and around 91 more were rejected cause of quality issues. here is the following images of my total earning since the day I started uploading on Adobe Stock:

https://stock.adobe.com/in/contributor/211316264/Jeshurun

During this period of generating AI art and uploading it, I just used to keep getting bombarded with YouTube and Instagram videos/reels on how Ai generation is ruining creative people’s freedom and value in today’s day and age, And I just went down this whole week of self-reflecting on my morals and ethics surrounding Ai generation and it opened my eyes as I was a self-taught 3D artist, I did realise a lot of things late in this Journey which led me to quit generating those Ai images but it was all worth it.

So, what’s the takeaway from my Midjourney experience?

If you’re thinking about giving it a shot, go ahead and do it! However, do so with your eyes wide open.

1. learn about the whole system first, if you find that it aligns with your morals and capital then surely go ahead and use it.

2. This is in no way of making easy money as easy money never existed and never will.

3. Original human creativity will always be more valued than AI-generated stuff.

4. Yes AI can be used in other better ways which do not go against our morals.

In the end, my advice is simple: chase your dreams, but don’t forget to enjoy the ride, even if it’s a bit bumpy along the way. Who knows? Your adventure might just be the ticket to an incredible journey.

Have you had the opportunity to fully utilize Midjourney or any other AI tool? Please share your AI experiences and advice in the comments area below. Remember to share this information with your fellow AI enthusiasts to motivate them to discover the truth about AI and How to value human creativity over AI-generated Stuff!

--

--