LinkedIn’s Integrating AI — Here’s What it Means For Creators

LinkedIn’s integrating AI.

Screenshot by Kevin. D. Turner

Good move for them in the short run.
Scary bad in the long run.

As Marija Todorović Aska said, authenticity can easily become just a catchphrase.

Ivana Todorovic, Richard van der Blom, and Kevin D. Turner said a lot on the topic, I don’t want to repeat. Check out their posts.

My guess is that it will ruin the platform in the long run. We, as Creators, will go elsewhere because, well... We want to create our own, original content. Right?

At least some of us. Others will just start using AI.

A part of non-active people will become active, and this will benefit the platform in the long run.

And most people will just keep doing what they do aka reading not caring about a person or AI creating the content, and it will tell us a lot about us, not about LinkedIn or about AI.

But it opens up space for another platform, maybe again Twitter, or something else. We’ll see.

I don’t use any AI tools for LinkedIn, and reach is still shit. With or without AI, reach is getting shittier and shittier, and it would be fine if it’s just a reach. It’s also an engagement.

I mean, I still create relationships and sell more than ever, but it doesn’t change the fact that it’s shit. :)

That’s why I’m posting the second post for today.

They say go niche but promote basic generic shit anyway, the opposite of niche, just like all the other platforms.

It reminds me of that friend that lies to himself on a daily level. 🤣

So I go niche, engage more (not only on the platform), and create more relationships (not only on the platform). It gets me more sales than ever.

With the lowest reach I had in the last 4 years, I’d say.

Anyway, keep it funky and think out of the box.

LinkedIn said that I’m the Raising star of the marketing world, but it is quickly becoming a platform that is complicated to use the right way and one that makes its creators uncomfortable.

Being a marketer, I’ll use it for my goals as long as it gets me those results. Nobody cares about my goals but me.

Make sure you know your goals and act accordingly.

LinkedIn sure knows its goals. 😉

But let's add a few opinions of other people.

Ashley Faus said:

The advice to just “focus on quality content” is useless if the algorithm disappears it into a black hole. No one sees content they literally don’t see! You DO have to care about the algorithm (and dare I say, game the algorithm) if you want people to even see the content to have an opportunity to judge whether it’s worth their time.

This is also part of the reason I’m bullish on in-person speaking engagements. You can’t (yet) fake that. I guess you could put a hologram on stage, but at least then everyone knows it’s a deep fake!

If we consider that trust and relationships are still uniquely human, creators and those who want depth will gravitate towards the mediums that make it difficult/impossible for robots to intervene.

I think we’re headed for a bifurcation in intent. Information intent will become the domain of AI. Relationship intent remains the domain of humans.

Whether those relationships start and/or grow via LinkedIn is a different question and we’ll see how it shakes out as AI-generated content ramps up.

Dr. Branislav Poletanovic said something I agreed with.

It is a questionable move from LinkedIn. I agree with your view.
Let’s provoke some thoughts:
- 99% of lurkers on LinkedIn
- 1% keeping it alive
- Platforms heartbeat is an activity
- No activity; no heartbeat
How to increase activity?
Lower threshold for cool and attractive content. One idea 💡 and AI 🧠 make you a content hero.
Ignition of the next-level fake platform? What Photoshop was for pictures AI is for content?

I think people will stick around, and it tells us a lot about us, people.

#linkedin #ai #chatgpt

--

--

Nemanja Zivkovic
𝐀𝐈 𝐦𝐨𝐧𝐤𝐬.𝐢𝐨

I combine research and strategy with creatives to help B2B companies develop demand for the way buyers buy now |