#AlumoftheWeek — Thierry Uwanyirigira, AIMS Rwanda ‘17

Joel Bamfo-Appiah
AIMS Community Digest
3 min readSep 9, 2022

Since 2003, the brightest African students from less privileged homes are gathered under one roof across centres in Africa to be trained to take up Africa’s most significant challenges. Most of these students have ambitions that need to be nurtured, and the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences provide the perfect environment and the technical skills necessary to unleash them. Today’s #AlumoftheWeek, we highlight an alum from Rwanda on his experience, and how AIMS has been of help to his current role and his contribution to society. Thierry Uwanyirigira of the 2017 cohort of AIMS Rwanda is our alum of the week. Thierry is currently an Applications Lead Engineer at Wipro Limited, Rwanda.

Q: Share a brief history of your academic journey before AIMS?

Thierry: Before AIMS, I was at the College of Sciences and Technology of the University of Rwanda, where I pursued a Bachelor’s Science degree in Electronics and Telecommunications Engineering. Here, I graduated with an upper-class division, which was my pleasure and motivation to pursue further studies at AIMS.

Q: Why was AIMS a priority for you after your undergraduate studies?

Thierry: I chose the AIMS Master programme because I wanted to enhance my knowledge and skills in the career path I had in mind. I had always dreamt of becoming a professional engineer, and the AIMS programme was a suitable environment to fulfill this goal. The provision of a scholarship to gather for all expenses made me focus on the needful and stress less about all fee-related demands that I would have faced from other universities.

The atmosphere at the Centre motivated me to work hard and accomplish my goal of being a professional engineer in the telecommunication sector. I acquired a profound experience in how to choose, direct and follow your dreams from a career perspective and set small and big goals for the same. The interaction of students, lecturers, and campus leaders in and out of sessions was one of my favourite memories. I liked how students lived and enjoyed themselves together with cultural diversity.

Q: In a few words, what will you say is the impact AIMS has had on you?

Thierry: AIMS taught me to be a hardworking fellow with skills of multitasking and meeting short deadlines. The learning module and exposure enhanced my ability to work in teams. Hard skills like research, data analytics, and coding can all be said as positive impacts gained from AIMS.

Q: What will you describe as your success story after AIMS?

Thierry: After AIMS, I fully transitioned into the telecommunication industry, and I take this as my most tremendous success. I joined Millicom Tigo SA, one of the world’s leading telecommunication companies, as a Data and Device Junior Analyst. In this role, I worked on some big projects the company had initiated and saw to their completion. I joined Airtel Rwanda later that year as a Revenue Assurance Analyst, where my primary role was to define and implement control procedures to mitigate identified risks and revenue loss scenarios. In addition, I was involved in five other projects in line with the merger of Tigo and Airtel Rwanda. The successful implementation of these projects resulted in being awarded the Best Talent and Best Employee of the Year 2021. Most of the skills and working ability to reach this level are the skills acquired from AIMS, including Big Data analysis and scientific programming. I currently work with Wipro Rwanda, where I serve as the Applications Lead Engineer.

Beyond these successes, I have set a personal mission of seeing myself managing and controlling a technological company in the next few years to come.

Q: What will be your final words to future AIMS students and other African youth?

Thierry: Goal setting is necessary. Once you get them set, stay and avoid any distractions that may come your way. The future of Africa is bright, and you can equally fit into the plan.

--

--