Agent Jessica Jakeway Tells What It Was Like Assisting Erich Manser In His First Boston Marathon Using Aira Technology

Chan “Tilly” Soukamneuth
Aira
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2017

By Jessica Jakeway

Erich Manser crossing the finish line with his sighted guide and Aira at the Boston Marathon 2017 on April 17, 2017

For the past few years, before becoming an Aira Agent, I have been one of the “those people”…the kind of employee who spends the third Monday in April sitting in a cubicle, stealing glances at the Boston Marathon as it streams in the background of a work computer.

This year was different. On Monday, April 17, I once again spent working hours watching the Boston Marathon on my computer…but this time, it was my job as an Agent to do so as I sat in the comfort of my own home in Columbus, Ohio. Thanks to an innovative pairing of Aira and its smart glasses, I watched a livestream of the marathon through the eyes of a legally blind marathon racer, Erich Manser, as I helped him navigate the challenging course for the first time using Aira technology.

Erich and I have been working together since I became an Aira Agent last summer. We quickly connected over our passion for running, as I am also a marathon runner, and he mentioned his ambitious desire to test out Aira during the Boston Marathon. I was instantly enthralled by the idea of being a part of such a unique and potentially life-changing experience, and even more excited to learn we were making the idea a reality. Prior to this, Erich had run in 16 marathons, including seven Boston Marathons, using exclusively a sighted guide — a fellow runner at his side on a tether who helped him navigate the race course.

Erich using Aira to train for the Boston Marathon. Agent Jessica Jakeway is guiding him on his practice runs.

Easter Sunday, miles away from Boston, I found it difficult to fall asleep as I experienced a new form of pre-race jitters. While I knew I didn’t have to face my normal race-day concerns as a runner, I was anxious about being part of the first test of Aira as a marathon accessibility tool. As I sat at my computer Monday morning, anxiously awaiting Erich’s call, I was touched by the extensive support Aira and Erich received through social media. Fellow Aira Explorers cheered us on from all over the US, and the genuine excitement about this experience was undeniable.

Finally, as Erich’s 10:50 a.m. race time rolled around, I saw his request come through on my computer dashboard. As soon as I answered, I could hear the excitement in his always friendly voice. I instantly felt like I was truly in Boston myself, as I saw the crowd-lined streets of the infamous Hopkinson starting line and heard the loud cheers of encouragement.

While Erich and I had to keep our conversations much shorter than we were used to during training runs along the more rural streets near his Littleton, MA home, I was still able to highlight race features he might otherwise have missed. We knew the noise factor of the crowd and 30,000 race participants would play a factor in our ability to communicate. Fortunately, we had developed code words and short phrases to keep our interactions efficient. I gave him tips such as “runner passing on the right,” “you’re on the yellow line,” “clear path ahead,” and even simply “cups” as he ran through the sea of crushed paper cups participants toss at their feet after hydration stations. I also made sure to let Erich know when I saw mile markers, both along the sides and painted on the streets themselves with the infamous race logo featuring a horse.

In addition to the anticipated visuals and obstacles, it was a fun surprise to see other blind runners cross our path. I could see “BLIND” and “GUIDE” bibs on runners who were undoubtedly on their own meaningful journeys.

As we got within a couple miles of the finish line, Erich asked, “Are you ready to take us in?” I could see Fenway Park and Harvard references appearing closer and closer on the aerial map tracking Erich’s run, and I honestly got a second-hand runner’s high. My heart started racing, and I had to fight back a few tears as I watched Erich go under an overpass with “Boston Strong” spelled out in bright blue and yellow letters, and then again as I directed him to take the left turn onto Bolyston Street, the final stretch of the race, before he crossed the finish line with a time of 5:11:30.

Jessica’s view of the race from the agent dashboard as she navigates Erich on the route. Top Left: Erich’s view of the Boston Strong bridge, fellow runners, and policemen. Top Right: Street view from Google Maps. Bottom: Aerial view of the whole area from Google Maps.

The experience of “running” with Erich during the Boston Marathon will forever hold a unique place in my heart. Obviously, Erich and his sighted guide did all the heavy lifting, but knowing I played even a small role in making sure he got the most out of his race and made it to the finish line safely is an incredible feeling.

While it is likely I will never qualify to run the coveted Boston Marathon, I will always cherish the memory of helping an inspirational and impressive athlete do so. As one of our Explorers recently said, “Could we have done these things without Aira? Absolutely, but Aira makes them more fun.” Monday’s race, although not Erich’s fastest, was indeed meaningful and exhilarating, showing that the possibilities are endless in the new and exciting ways that Explorers can use Aira technology and services to become more mobile and independent.

To learn more about Aira visit our website, follow us on twitter, and like us on facebook.

--

--