Aira Explorer Travels to Ballparks Across America

Gelena Correia
Aira
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2018

Lifelong baseball fan and Aira Explorer, James Bybee, is taking a road trip across America to fulfill his personal goal of visiting every Major League Baseball Stadium. James will be taking Aira along to enhance his experiences. You can follow James’ journey on Twitter @ututes76, Facebook @James Bybee and Instagram @jbybee76 and the hashtag #MLBandAira.

James has been a fan of “America’s favorite pastime” ever since he was a child.

“I used to watch Cubs and Braves games on TV with my grandpa. He and I talked, and I started to develop a real interest in baseball. I knew that I really loved the game when I watched Kirk Gibson hit a game-winning home-run in game 1 of the 1988 World Series, even though I was cheering for the Oakland Athletics.”

James is adding six new stadiums to the list of 13 ballparks he has already visited. See James’s travel schedule below:

  • May 16: Kauffman Stadium, Kansas City, Missouri
  • May 17: Busch Stadium, St. Louis, Missouri
  • May 18: Guaranteed Rate Field, Chicago, Illinois
  • May 19: Target Field, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • May 21: Miller Park, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • May 22: Minute Maid Park, Houston, Texas

It’ll be interesting to see if one of the new stadiums that James visits will replace his current favorites.

“Since I had watched so many Cubs games with my grandpa, I really wanted to visit Wrigley Field. When I attended a game there on May 7, 2012, I was amazed. I first took a stadium tour where I was able to go behind the scenes, and see areas of the park that most people don’t get to see. A thick fog blanketed the stadium during the game, which made things very interesting. The other stadium I would put at the top of my list is AT&T Park in San Francisco. The Park is situated on the bay. It is the only park where people float around in kayaks outside of the right field wall waiting for a home run ball.”

This trip is not all about baseball. “I think that attending baseball games in unfamiliar cities can be a lot of fun, however, there is much more to each city than just the games.” Visiting famous landmarks, like the Liberty Bell in Philadelphia and the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco, are additional activities James likes to do during his travels.

--

--