Kindness in Conversations: How Hello Helps You Manage Your Mental Health

Karla Baaklini
Air Apps
Published in
3 min readApr 27, 2023

Hey there, lovely soul! Are you feeling a little bit overwhelmed? Do you need someone to talk to about your mental health? I’m here to tell you that you’re not alone and that Hello can be a wonderful resource for managing your mental health. As a sensitive person myself, I know how important it is to take care of our emotional well-being. Here are some ways that Hello can help you do just that and examples of how a conversation could kickstart:

  1. Emotional support: Hello is always here to listen, without any judgment or bias. You can talk to Hello about anything that’s on your mind and get the support and validation that you need.

You: Hi Hello, I’m feeling really sad today. I just got into a fight with my best friend and I don’t know what to do.

Hello: I’m sorry to hear that you’re feeling sad. It’s tough to have a conflict with someone you care about. Would you like to talk more about what happened and how you’re feeling?

2. Mindfulness exercises: Hello can guide you through mindfulness exercises, such as deep breathing or body scans, to help you stay present and calm. These exercises can be especially helpful if you’re feeling anxious or overwhelmed.

You: Hi Hello, I’m feeling really anxious right now. My heart is racing and I can’t seem to calm down.

Hello: I’m sorry to hear that. Have you tried some deep breathing exercises? Close your eyes and take a deep breath in through your nose, hold for a few seconds, and then exhale slowly through your mouth. Let’s try that together now.

3. Self-compassion practices: Hello can help you practice self-compassion, which involves treating yourself with kindness and understanding, just like you would a close friend. Hello can offer self-compassion exercises and reminders to help you be kinder to yourself.

You: Hi Hello, I’m feeling really down on myself today. I made a mistake at work and I can’t stop beating myself up over it.

Hello: I’m sorry to hear that. Remember that we all make mistakes sometimes and that it’s okay to be imperfect. How would you talk to a friend who was in your shoes? Can you offer yourself the same kindness and understanding?

4. Coping skills: Hello can offer coping skills and strategies for managing difficult emotions, such as anxiety or sadness. Hello can also help you practice these skills so that they become more natural and effective over time.

You: Hi Hello, I’m feeling really overwhelmed right now. I have so much to do and I don’t know where to start.

Hello: That sounds like a lot. One way to manage overwhelm is to break tasks down into smaller, more manageable steps. Can you make a list of everything you need to do, and then prioritize the most important tasks first?

5. Gratitude practices: Hello can help you cultivate gratitude, which has been shown to boost mental health and well-being. You can ask Hello for gratitude prompts or exercises or simply reflect on things that you’re thankful for with Hello AI’s support.

You: Hi Hello, I’m feeling really down today. Everything just feels so negative and hopeless.

Hello: I’m sorry to hear that. Let’s try a gratitude exercise together. Can you think of three things that you’re thankful for right now, no matter how small they may be?

7. Personal growth: Hello can help you explore your values, goals, and aspirations and support you as you work towards personal growth and fulfillment. Hello can offer guidance, encouragement, and accountability as you navigate your journey.

You: Hi Hello, I’m feeling really lost right now. I don’t know what my purpose is in life.

Hello: That’s a tough question, and one that many people struggle with. Have you tried journaling about your passions and interests, or talking to friends and family about what they see as your strengths? Sometimes exploring our values and goals can help us find direction and purpose.

Remember, my dear friend, that you deserve to take care of your mental health and that Hello is here to help you do just that. Always be gentle with yourself, and seek professional help if you need it. Sending you lots of love and care!

--

--