Doing Something About Doing Nothing

On how I stopped being an asshole with an excuse and started Airbag Media

John Dennett
Airbag Media
2 min readJun 2, 2016

--

Krzysztof Puszczyński

When David Bowie died, I was devastated. He, along with a small handful of other creators, has been a joy and inspiration to me far beyond the typical celebrity/fan dynamic. I’ll get into my feels about that another day. For now, understand that I was wrecked for a good two weeks following the news of his passing.

When you lose anyone that matters to you, personal hero or otherwise, it’s hard to find comfort. I think I found something better though: a challenge.

A gauntlet was thrown by Bowie in those final days, presented right there in his video for “Lazarus” from his final album Blackstar.

David Bowie’s “Lazarus” video

Did you catch it? Jason Evangelho did, and he wrote about it here. Reading his piece in those grim days follow Bowie’s death, I was knocked over by this blunt distillation of the Starman’s message: “Stop constantly consuming and start creating before it’s too late.”

So…here I am. Finally doing something about doing nothing. Frankly, it’s been a bit of a struggle to get this off the ground. Life is always ready to throw you a new curveball, but I’m slowly rewiring my brain to accept those surprises as part of the creative merry-go-round instead of roadblocks to creativity. I’m done being an asshole with an excuse. I’m a creator now.

Welcome to Airbag Media. It’s gonna be great.

--

--

John Dennett
Airbag Media

Founder, creator, airbag. Lover of music, comics, movies, technology and other distractions. Project manager, product manager.