Kristen Bell: A Trip That Changed Me

The actress shares memories and photos from an escape with her husband and their daughters.

Airbnb Magazine Editors
Airbnb Magazine
3 min readOct 19, 2018

--

Photos courtesy of Kristen Bell

The Inspiration

My husband and I really wanted our kids to experience some time on a Michigan lake like we did growing up. (He’s from Milford; I’m from Huntington Woods.) So last summer, we rented a house on the Pottawatomie Bayou.

Where We Stayed

We found a gorgeous Airbnb that was perfectly set up for kids. The house slept 15 and we used every bed — we invited our friends from high school, their kids, and some in-laws who still live in the Detroit area.

What We Did

The house had a game room with a pool table and Ping-Pong and doors that opened up to a sandy beach bordering the lake. There were 30 life jackets, in every size and color. During the day, we used the home’s swan paddleboats, kayaks, and paddleboards. We sat at the end of the dock and told our kids about what we did on the lakes in Michigan when we were kids. We caught up with our high school friends and watched our kids become friends. We did science projects on the sand with baking soda and vinegar. And in the evenings, we cooked in the fire pit and made s’mores.

How It Affected Us

In Michigan, things are a bit more casual — people enjoy the outdoors. The trip made me nostalgic for my childhood and reminded me how that special little pocket of the U.S. is responsible for making me who I am.

I thought about people I hadn’t thought about in 20 years. I learned more about my husband as we both shared stories about things we did growing up. It made me sentimental, knowing there isn’t another state like “the Mitten.” I was incredibly grateful to be able to show my kids why we love home so much.

Our Next Journey

We’ve decided to go home, at least for a week, to a Michigan lake every year. The entire trip seemed to stir up our inner kids. And there’s nothing more heartwarming than seeing our mini-mes running around together trying to catch fireflies, just like we used to.

Watch Bell on NBC’s hit comedy The Good Place Thursdays at 8:30 p.m. ET.

--

--