Airdrafts — Issue #2

Give users a choice… continue reading to understand what our not-so-cryptic tweet meant along with a few more updates on the Airgift front. This is Airdrafts Issue #2.

Sai Kambampati
Airdrafts
Published in
4 min readMay 5, 2021

--

Killing it on the icons front

Welcome Back

Well it looks like I’m back so I guess this is going to be a regular thing now. The development of Airgift has been surprisingly productive this past week. We were able to crack 72 users waitlisted for the app on the web app so I’m hoping to get it to 100 by the end of the month.

Airgift Web Appweb.airgift.app
Be the first to join the Airgift waitlist and reserve your Airgift username.

In this issue of Airdrafts, I’ll talk about messaging on Airgift, update you with some screenshots on how far development has gone, and leave you with some fun AR-tweets we saw over the past week.

Introducing Airchats

It really is all about branding…

Alright, so early on while developing Airgift, I knew I had to make sure there was a way for users to message one another. After all, if users were going to be sharing and dropping virtual gifts around the world, what better way to connect with one another through messaging?

But that’s where it got interesting. See, there’s so many ways of messaging we could choose from. We could go classic IM where users are able to send each other messages and have a history log of all chats sent. Or we could go the privacy route and have messages disappear after they’ve been viewed by the recipients. Or we could adopt a newer form of messaging, called cursor chat, as announced at Config a few weeks ago.

I also knew that whatever we chose, had to follow the privacy guidelines I set out for Airchat, namely, that messages between friends and connections would follow end-to-end encrypted messaging. The keys belong to you and only you.

As Steve Jobs once said,

“Privacy means people know what they’re signing up for, in plain language, and repeatedly.”

And that’s when I realized, “Why not let users sign up for which messaging type they want? Why not give them the power of choice?”

Sure, the development may take longer on my part but it’s worth it if it means that the customer experience will be greatly enhanced. And so, I’m pleased to announce that Airchats will come in 3 variants: default, ghost mode, and cursor mode.

Airchats

Fun AR Content for you

Take a look at this future technologist’s response when asked whether he prefers AR or VR

Paul Hamilton, who does creates and shares his amazing work with AR, made this really neat AR 360 Sphere. If you’re on an iOS device, I recommend playing with the sphere… it’s mighty impressive!

Airgift Progress

As always, at the end of each issue, I’ll let you know of the goals I intend to accomplish with Airgift. It’ll be fun to see how close I come to accomplishing this each week.

Last week, my goals were to complete searching for users, following them, unfollowing them, and get started on building the messaging platform. I’m pleased to say all of these goals have been reached!

Follow New Users and Non-Intrusive Notifications

This week, I’ll be grinding away on the messaging platform so I can’t wait to update you for next week. That’s all I have to say! Follow Airgift and me to see my progress throughout the week or simply subscribe to this newsletter!

Thanks for reading,

Sai from The Airgift Crew

Airgift 🎁 (@AirgiftApp) | Twitter

twitter.com
The latest Tweets from Airgift 🎁 (@AirgiftApp). Discover, create, and send digital content through immersive AR gift drops to anyone in the world. Reserve your handle today at https://t.co/N0A7LZS82B. 🌎

P.S. It would be swell if you can sign up, join the waitlist, and reserve your username on Airgift if you haven’t already. If you have, go ahead and share that link 😄

Airgift Web Appweb.airgift.app
Be the first to join the Airgift waitlist and reserve your Airgift username.

--

--

Sai Kambampati
Airdrafts

Crafting a hopeful future through design, engineering, and laughter