The story behind AIRMOTE with videos

AIRMOTE
AIRMOTE Blog
Published in
2 min readJul 25, 2016

You all wonder how this idea came to the world, was it a simple coincidence or the fruit of hard work and passion?

It started back in February 2014, I had the idea to use a small remote to access my phone without unlocking it. At first it looked simple to design with a huge market. The idea was to build a smart connected device for multiple uses like emergency calls, taking pictures, and more. I made the first prototype in 24 hours even if the goal wasn’t clear at the beginning, I admit it.

Weeks afterwards I was invited to Startupyourlife big meet up to pitch AIRMOTE, at the time it was called Imote, I had a big prototype that you could barely take with one hand.

Few months later, I had the chance to be part of a MIT Global Startup Workshop in Marrakech. It was a great opportunity to be in touch with a large public. I seized the occasion to interview audience from all over the world and get to know their specific needs in order to try to solve them with the device. Because I believe that developing any engine have to solve a problem that already lies around us. I was really surprised by the number of people suffering from frequent phone and key loss, which was new to me.

Since then, I embarked on this adventure and worked hard with my team to make the audience’s needs real. In addition to that, we also developed the control of music with a hand gesture and hands free selfies.

The first steps were not evident, we made more than ten prototypes before getting to the actual version of AIRMOTE. It is extremely rewarding to know that we are able to get to the final product.

The work didn’t stop here, we are still improving the device and adding more useful features to it. In the future, what do you want to control with your AIRMOTE?

Stay tuned #ExpectUs

--

--

AIRMOTE
AIRMOTE Blog

Learn the habit of always keeping your phone and keys with you.