Don’t be ashamed about your mental health

Airo Health
Airo Health
Published in
2 min readOct 25, 2017

In a previous job I experienced bullying at work which affected my mental health. At my worst, I would come home everyday and cry about work. My self esteem began to suffer and even though I was getting compliments about my work from co-workers, my bully kept humiliating me in front of colleagues and eventually I left.

As a result of my stress, depression and anxiety I had to see a counsellor to help rebuild my confidence — this sparked a dream to create a career counselling business for women who are unhappy at work, which I run now.

Don’t be ashamed of experiencing mental health problems. Poor mental health affects many more people than we realise. At first I was embarrassed to admit I wasn’t mentally OK but I realised if I didn’t get support from a GP, counsellor or friends and family I would be stuck there.

I make sure I now do certain things to keep my mental wellbeing in check. This includes activities like exercise, meditation, keeping a journal, writing and being outdoors. I am now in a good place in my life but it hasn’t been easy. My biggest lesson has been to love yourself even with the scars that people can’t see. Because eventually those scars will heal.

-Soma Ghosh, careers counsellor, London; as reported by The Guardian on 24/10/17. Curated by Airo Health.

Learn more about Airo for stress relief.

--

--

Airo Health
Airo Health

Airo identifies your stress triggers and focus points. It learns your routine to figure out personalized goals for building mental strength.