Revelations (Or Just Thoughts): The Golden Globes 2015

So I actually sat down and watched the red carpet and ceremony of the 2015 Golden Globes

Deannah Robinson
Airport \\ Burrito
6 min readJan 14, 2015

--

While I enjoyed it in parts, there are things that come to mind, things I’m kind of tired of seeing when it coms to award shows/events:

  • I’m tired of seeing Black artists continually getting snubbed for beautiful, well-done work.

I’m not gonna lie: I did NOT see Selma, but I plan to see it when I have the chance, and taking my mom with me. That said:

  • I’m also annoyed with presenters trying to be funny.

Yes, I’m aware the material they recite during the ceremony is written by someone else, but I think it’s time they got some fresh blood to do that, don’t you think?

  • Twitter somehow annoyed me with the constant mention of Benedict Cumberbatch and his photobombing.

Now, I love me some Cumberbatch, though I have some things to say about him (which is a long story to save for another time), but I feel 1) his photobombing is getting old and overplayed and 2) every other tweet on my Twitter timeline mentioned Benedict and/or his photobomb of Meryl Streep and Margaret Cho (who was dressed as a representative of North Korea while holding a fan magazine w/ Kim Jong-Un gracing the cover) as the two women took a photo.

  • Tina Fey and Amy Poehler’s monologue, while funny in some parts, was REACHING in others.

Yes, Emma’s got Big Eyes. Yes, Amal Clooney is an amazing woman whose husband just so happens to be an award-winning actor and dammit, where’s her award for being so awesomesauce?!

However, one of the parts assumed to be ‘reaching’ was the “joke” about Bill Cosby and the rape allegations against him. BUT… while it was a bit much, I get why they did it that way: during a recent show in London, Ontario, Canada, Bill Cosby “joked” with a female audience member who’d gotten up for a drink, stating, “You have to be careful about drinking around me.” While an obvious dig to the allegations (I hate saying ‘allegations’, because it sounds like I’m dismissing the stories of women affected), the fact that he said it complicates his situation, making him sound more like a creep.

Fey’s take on it during the GG monologue was really rough to hear, but, to me, it seemed she was just emulating what Cosby had done during his show, using the same creepy, awkward energy he used to convey the joke. Still irksome…

  • It’s “Kwa-venn-sza-nay”, DAMMIT!

So, Quevenzhané Wallis’ (Annie) name was BUTCHERED yet again, this time by Ricky Gervais. He was on stage presenting the award for Best Actress in a Comedy or Musical, in which Wallis was nominated. Of course Gervais took it upon himself to… do the usual assholish things he usually does and butcher her name, John Travolta-style, but worse, drink in hand.

Ugh.

Google the video on how to pronounce Quevenzhané’s name. This is a constant put-down of her wonderful spirit, so let’s stop this tomfoolery, starting NOW.

  • Some award winners got to ‘speech’ longer than others, seemingly for obvious reasons.

I get why George Clooney got to go on for as long as he did upon receiving the Cecil B. DeMille Award for his body of work. However, someone explain to me why Michael Keaton (Birdman) got more time to cry on stage while the music began to play 30 seconds into Sarah Treem’s speech.

Sarah Treem = writer/producer of The Affair, which won the Golden Globe for Best TV Drama Series, BTW…

  • Per usual, the most deserving nominees were snubbed.

Of course this is a thing that happens with awards shows.

Of course, Selma gets snubbed in every other nomination, but I guess the HFP thought one nod, Best Original Song, was good enough and would make Selma‘s audience happy.

Of course, Martin Freeman gets snubbed in favor of Billy Bob Thornton for Fargo (and they were both nominated in the same category, which is weird but not unusual), though Billy Bob did a damn fine job in his role as Lorne Malvo.

Of course, Viola Davis (How To Get Away With Murder) and Robin Wright (House of Cards) get snubbed in favor of Ruth Wilson, star of The Affair (though I appreciate Wilson’s work) for the award for Best Actress in a TV Series — Drama.

And while I love me some Downton Abbey and am happy for Joanne Froggart winning the Golden Globe for Best Supporting Actress in a Drama, I REALLY wish Uzo Aduba (Orange is the New Black) won instead.

Other things that irked me:

  • Margaret Cho’s ‘NK rep’ joke went on for too long
  • Chanel did Keira Knightley DIRTY
  • Kerry Washington’s dress would’ve looked better without the navy blue panels on the skirt
  • Amal Clooney should’ve left the gloves at home; she was not visiting royalty
  • One day, Kevin Hart will realize he’s still short. And Black. And doesn’t need to assert his manhood by rubbing all over his lady’s behind during red carpet interviews
  • hearing people talk while presenters were on stage and on-air, doing their part
  • red carpet reporters asking redundant questions and mistaking their subjects for other famous people
  • SOMEONE pray for Lena Dunham, please; bless her little heart
  • Also, I feel the award Amy Adams got was a way to make-up for losses prior; I felt the same way when Renée Zellweger got an Oscar for Cold Mountain, because I felt she deserved one when she was nominated for Chicago
  • the stance on Je Suis Charlie, which may/may not say a lot about some of the people backing Charlie Hedbo regarding free speech (some more words for another post/time)

Aside from all that, there were some good things that came out of the ceremony:

  • Kevin Spacey (House of Cards), after being nominated and losing 8 previous times, finally won his first Golden Globe for Best Actor in a TV Series Drama
  • he also arrived with co-star Kate Mara while seemingly sauced upon hitting the red carpet (he seemed a bit loose while talking to Seacrest and while accepting his award ;-D)
  • the red carpet bandits of E! network (Ryan Seacrest, Giuliana Rancic, Ross Matthews, Kelly Osbourne, etc) did their thing, and all looked wonderful, but I thought Kelly looked AMAZING in her navy blue gown
  • Congrats to Gina Rodriguez for her Best Actress in A TV Series — Comedy/Musical for Jane The Virgin!
  • There was some LGBT+ representation, as Matt Bomer (The Normal Heart) won Best Supporting Actor and Transparent won Best TV Series — Comedy (if there’s more, those are just two examples)
  • Sophie Hunter looked better than her baby’s daddy fiancé Benedict Cumberbatch
  • How To Train Your Dragon 2 won for Best Animated Feature Film (I’ve only seen the first one, but I’d love to watch the sequel!)
  • I’m proud of Common and John Legend winning Best Original Song for Selma!
  • Ava DuVernay SLAYED in her Zac Posen gown. GORGEOUS!
  • JENNIFER LOPEZ! KATE HUDSON!

All in all, I have to say it was fairly enjoyable. There are many things I would change (for one, making sure those most deserving got their awards, getting in new writers for monologues of hosts and presenters), but it’ll just have to do, because I’m not involved with the Hollywood Foreign Press nor the show.

I can only express my opinion, which is obviously a lot, because LOOK AT HOW MUCH I’VE WRITTEN!

Anyway, congrats to the night’s winners, as well as the nominees for getting as far as they did. You all have deserved your place in the Beverly Hilton this weekend due to your hard work, and I hope there’s more in store!

I guess I’ll be watching the next awards event, which I believe is either the Grammys or the Screen Actors Guild Awards, whichever comes first. If this helps me write more, then so be it!

Until then, DeDe

Originally published at dederants.wordpress.com on January 12, 2015.

--

--

Deannah Robinson
Airport \\ Burrito

Writer. Blogger. Actress. New Yorker based in Fayetteville, NC. Just me being me. Follow me @DeDeRants and http://dederants.wordpress.com