Arati & Kaushik

Jancy V
Aisle
Published in
3 min readOct 30, 2019

Kaushik was working in Mumbai and during a conversation with his parents one day, they insisted he settle down soon. He remembered watching a video promoted by Aisle earlier the same day in an Ola cab, and decided to give the app a shot. When he did not receive any confirmation email, he uninstalled the app. However, a week later Kaushik saw the email from Aisle in his Spam folder and installed the app again.

Arati’s brother-in-law had first told her about Aisle. “It had been close to 3 years since my parents were searching for someone for me. In November 2017, I decided to take matters in my hands.” She was working in Bangalore at the time.

Kaushik came across Arati’s profile on day 2 of using the app. “In her Story she had mentioned that she is a Manchester United fan, and that got me very interested. I send her the Invite immediately. And she accepted it”, Kaushik adds.

“I remember it was around evening when I received a message from Kaushik on Aisle. I was at a stage where I had lost my interest in finding a guy for myself. I instead started interacting thinking I might find a good friend. He looked so good in his pictures on his profile that I had very little hope of us ending together” Arati adds.

We didn’t want to think of marriage immediately when we started talking and decided to be friends first. We exchanged numbers, and started discovering more about each other” Kaushik adds. “Our conversations went on until wee hours. During one such conversation I’d told him that I was looking for someone to get married to. To this he replied, ‘I hope you get a nice guy (I’m not kidding, I’m telling it from the bottom of my heart)’. I was absolutely hopeless about this going any further” Arati recalls.

“4 days into our long conversations, Kaushik told me that he was in love with me. And a few days after, he told me that he wanted to marry me. Things escalated too soon and I thought he was joking at first, but 2 weeks later he was in Bangalore to spend an entire weekend with me. The weekend was the time when I saw how comfortable I was with him and that I never had to act or behave differently around him. That was also the time I realised that he met all the criteria on my checklist. He was also a coffee person, from a Tambram family and was working in Bombay. That very moment, I knew it was him. For me, it was a dream come true…” Arati recalls.

The parents were very happy and supportive once they heard the news. The couple got married on the 29th of April this year. “Four months into the relationship and we got married” Arati adds, “..and it’s good we dated just for a short time. That way we got to know just what was needed about each other, and now have our entire lifetime to discover more.

…and I realised she isn’t a Manchester United fan. But it doesn’t matter. Our love has evolved over time. We’ve gotten to know and understand each other better, that’s what is important” Kaushik adds. The couple is now settled in Chennai and in the process of planning their next trip to Ooty.

Aisle wishes Arati and Kaushik a lifetime of happiness, together.

--

--

Jancy V
Aisle
Writer for

Storyteller slash Counsellor. Always up for Chai and Conversations. Running on dollops of faith, love & sugar.