Ashwini & Sushil

Jancy V
Aisle
Published in
3 min readJan 30, 2019

This New Year was a very special one. When the clock struck 12, I was in the most beautiful place in the world; on a hill, in his arms, looking at the stars and completely in love”, Ashwini recalls.

When Sushil sent Ashwini an Ask Out on Aisle, what stood out for her was the message he had written along with it — Let’s talk and see where it goes, and that was exactly what Ashwini was looking for.

“Ashwini being from the same community as mine I thought things could work out, and after reading her profile I was very impressed. I sent her an Ask Out and took a chance”, Sushil adds. Ashwini accepted the Ask Out. “Even our first conversation was like long lost friends catching up. We just clicked and started talking every day”, she adds.

Soon it was time for their first date. “We decided to meet and I was both excited and a bit nervous. The date was fun and the conversation was easy flowing. After the date, I couldn’t stop smiling. I was very happy to have met someone like-minded” Sushil says.

For Ashwini, however, it was the second date that made quite the impression. “We met at my workplace, where I was judging an event” Ashwini recalls. “Being an entrepreneur, people are scared to date me because they feel I am super ambitious and not the traditional kinds. For Sushil, this date was just a fun hangout, but that’s when I realised that he didn’t think like the others. The more time we spent, we realised we couldn’t let go of each other.

Very early on in the relationship itself, the couple had realised that the bond they shared was special. A few days later, Ashwini decided to take the leap. “As a feminist, I wasn’t okay with the concept of the guy going down on his knees. So I called him and said something like, I’m sorry this is probably the most unromantic thing that I can do, but I have thought about this and I am ready to marry you. So you can ask me whenever you want. He took a week’s time and then asked me to marry him”, Ashwini recalls with a smile.

“It was becoming difficult to stay away from each other every day without meeting and we decided we are made for each other and we wanted to spend the rest of our life together. We met each other’s family and everyone liked us and now, we are getting married”, Sushil adds. This lovely couple is currently busy with the preparations for their big day on April 28th.

“There’s no point settling for something that isn’t amazing for you. Sushil is my dream guy and had I not stood up for what I wanted, I wouldn’t have found love”, Ashwini adds.

We at Aisle wish this couple the best on this wonderful journey, as they build their new lives together.

--

--

Jancy V
Aisle
Writer for

Storyteller slash Counsellor. Always up for Chai and Conversations. Running on dollops of faith, love & sugar.