Bonnie & Sharath

Tara Maria Mathew
Aisle
Published in
4 min readDec 4, 2019

“Dating offline is very difficult. We don’t know if someone is looking for a relationship and it’s very confusing. So I felt that online dating is much easier where someone is saying — hey I’m here” says Sharath. Bonnie had landed on Aisle to meet interesting people outside her circle. While she had given other dating apps a try, she uninstalled them in a jiffy after finding the selection and elimination process to be shallow. “I liked the fact that Aisle has a process and you can’t just put up a profile with a picture and that it was a very detailed application” says Bonnie.

“Because I wasn’t serious, I would just scroll through and then close the app. A couple of times, Bonnie’s profile caught my eye. There was something about her. Her photos weren’t flashy, and I had really liked what she had written in her Story, which was something along the lines of — if you’re an honest person then you would have no trouble talking to me” Sharath recalls. And then Sharath Liked Bonnie’s profile.

“Sharath’s profile felt extremely real and intriguing to me. He had these simple, unpretentious photos, one with his nephew and another with his Dad, each shot from a different angle, making it difficult for me to figure out exactly how he looks. We matched on almost every Interest and Preference, except for Shopping and Sports (we’re still working on that). I Liked his profile back and in a day, we were connected on Aisle says Bonnie.

In matter of no time, the couple hit it off. “Our humour was on the same level with our really bad PJs. I was actually very happy to finally find a person who could understand my jokes. Whenever I would crack a joke, she would crack one too” adds Sharath.

After texting for 2 days, they met on the third day. When asked about how the first date went Sharath recalls, “It wasn’t planned to be a long date and was supposed to be just meet and have lunch, but we ended up talking for 4–5 hours and it felt right. She bunked office and came just to meet me”.

“On our first date, Sharath made me feel very comfortable. Right from the get-go, he felt familiar and safe to me, like he was a part of my family. We spent hours in childlike conversations, laughing our asses off at the silliest of things, talking like we’d known each other for years” Bonnie adds.

They both realised after the first date itself that this was something that was going to be special. However, despite the excitement and connection, since this was only their first date, Bonnie wanted to give it some time and not jump into it without much thought. “I remember on the first date, she asked me if I had met anyone else and I hadn’t. She asked me not to think of the first meeting as a “date” date and that we’ll just meet and see how it goes and that we might just end up being friends. But when I saw her itself I was head over heels for her and in my head I was like there’s no way that I would just remain friends with her” says Sharath.

“Back then, I was travelling a lot for work and one of the days that we were hanging out, he said something cheesy that would’ve definitely creeped out others. He said that in the future when I travel and am not around, I wouldn’t have to worry about anything because he would take care of our home and kids. As someone who intentionally avoids planning into the future, I was both surprised and impressed that this guy had given us so much thought. He spoke about a future with me and that’s the moment I realized that he’s in it for the long haul” Bonnie recalls.

Bonnie and Sharath have been together for more than 2 years now. From being in a long-distance relationship for a few months, going back and forth to meet each other somehow during that time, to working out together, and travelling, they do a whole bunch of things together. “Except for Shopping” says Bonnie.

“We always wonder if we will run out of things to tell each other, but I don’t think that day will ever come” says Sharath.

“We come from different backgrounds. Sharath was raised Hindu, I was raised Christian. He is a few months younger to me. None of these external labels stopped us from discovering each other and I think we make an unconventional couple. We definitely want to live together and raise a family. While marriage is on the cards, we haven’t figured out when or how yet” says Bonnie.

Aisle wishes this beautiful couple a lifetime of happiness and love!

--

--