Divya & Pratik

Meera Anil
Aisle
Published in
4 min readSep 25, 2019

Divya and Pratik are two souls who seem to be cut from the same cloth. So similar were their journey till they met, that it almost defies logic. Hailing from Maharashtra, both of them come from very similar backgrounds, culture, even share a similar attitude towards life. But it was an Invite that changed everything for them.

If we hit it off, how about we backpack to Belgium to attend Tomorrowland while staying at Dreamville, then push off to Venice and lose ourselves together, and finally head to Norway to watch Aurora?!

Divya, who works as a virologist in Texas, had joined Aisle with a clear vision of what she wanted. With talks of marriage at home, she knew she wanted something serious. Pratik, a software engineer working in Ohio, was also going through an eerily similar situation at home when he came across Divya’s profile. “I couldn’t just send her a Like. Her profile was very detailed and expressive. You knew she spent time on the profile and it reflected how serious she was. I couldn’t just bank on luck. I had to buy the premium account”, recalls Pratik.

His Invite was so intriguing that Divya had to reply. Soon they started talking over the phone, with minutes turning to hours and then days. They were hooked. After three days of talking to each other and discovering how similar they were, Divya told her mom about Pratik. This set about a chain of events which resulted in both of the families being introduced over the phone.

They met two months after they started talking. Pratik flew down to Houston to meet Divya. Both of them very nervous about how their online relationship might translate when they meet. With her mind racing a thousand miles an hour it took her by surprise about how relaxed they were when they actually met.

When we met for the first time he was surprised by the fact that I wore a Chelsea jersey, his favorite. I was supposed to make plans for the entire weekend except Sunday evening, which he said he’ll plan. We cooked, went out, dined and had such an amazing time together and all the while he kept asking me how I was feeling. It made me wonder whether he was feeling differently but when asked, he would just tell me not to worry about it. That Sunday evening, we got dressed and he took me out, we pull up near the destination and I realised he had planned a helicopter ride during sunset!!! We were on the ride when he went on his knees pulled out a ring and proposed to me!! He had literally swept me off my feet, I was left speechless, and all I could to say was YES” Divya exclaims.

Once they spoke to their parents everything just fell into place. With their engagement set to happen in December 2019 and the marriage set for December 2020, both Divya and Pratik are now focusing on their professional life. Even with hundreds of miles separating them, they make sure they spend their time with each other. They cook the same thing, same time over a video call every day! They travel when they get time. She even flew to Ohio to meet his parents when they were visiting.

They loved her. She came dressed in an ethnic attire even though she took a very early flight right after her job. We had an amazing evening. But it’s what happened after dinner that made me realise that she became a part of my family. My father took her hand and led her away to dance to the music playing. I couldn’t help but smile at the priceless sight of them dancing together.” Pratik recalls. “I’m really close to my family, and to have her share the same bond with her parents as well as mine, it just made us grow closer”. It’s a sentiment that is reciprocated by Divya and in her words “We are each other’s walking checklists.

Aisle wishes Divya and Pratik a lifetime of happiness and love!

--

--