Harini & Balaji

Meera Anil
Aisle
Published in
3 min readAug 1, 2019

The old adage, “When you know, you know,” rings true when one meets their soulmate. It was the same for Balaji when he met Harini. The couple hit it off almost immediately and soon discovered that what they shared was to be cherished. It did not take them long to realize that they were very much in love.

Harini came across Aisle while searching for platforms to meet people. “I was talking to a few friends about the problems we faced when it came to meeting people on similar apps. So I was browsing through and Aisle seemed different so I gave it a try.” Balaji, on the other hand, had it on his recommended list. Their journey started with both of them in different parts of the world; Balaji was in Germany pursuing a Master’s degree when he came across Harini’s profile; Harini was in Bangalore pursuing her start-up. They seemed to have a few common interests and came from similar cultural backgrounds, so Balaji decided to send her an invite, which she accepted after a few days. Although they started off on a formal note, they soon got comfortable with each other. They exchanged numbers and started calling each other on a regular basis. It took them less than a month to realize that they had feelings for each other.

When I got an offer from a firm in Bangalore, Harini decided to surprise me with a cake and so we had our first date!… ONLINE!,” laughs Balaji, recalling their first date. “I used to do paper routes as a part-time job in Berlin while studying, and we would speak to each other all along my routes. One day, she told me that her mother had asked her to find a ‘good boy’ and fall in love. I teased Harini to tell her mother that she didn’t have to worry since her daughter is already following her instructions to the ‘T’. She challenged me to tell my parents first, and after I told them, she also did it! So about a month into talking to each other, I arranged for Harini to meet my parents. It was all smooth sailing after that.” Although it would be almost three months before they actually met in person, the distance did not dampen their spirits.

They got engaged on 20th January 2019, and have their wedding fixed for November. “We share a love for cooking, reading, and travelling; since he returned to India we have tried to break away from the routine and have travelled occasionally. What helped us click is that we both have a common direction in life, whether personal or in our careers. And that just binds us together,” Harini adds.

Aisle wishes this beautiful couple all the love, happiness and togetherness forever.

--

--