Kanika & Vishal

Tara Maria Mathew
Aisle
Published in
5 min readJan 29, 2020

They say that what you truly love will somehow find its way back to you. All you have to do is believe. Kanika’s journey on Aisle started on such a note. “I was at the time also meeting people through my social network groups, but nothing clicked. That’s when I decided to give Aisle a try. I received few Invites but I got all jittery and deleted the account. About 2 weeks later, I got back on. I received a few Invites and Vishal was one of them. He was 10 years older than me and in spite of knowing that, I accepted it” recalls Kanika.

Though Vishal was in Mumbai and Kanika was in Delhi, they would take time out to talk to each other. During one such conversation, Vishal mentioned that he travelled to Delhi quite often for work and suggested they meet up the next time he visited. “I don’t know what happened but 2–3 days later I texted Vishal with a made-up story about how I told my mom about this and she wasn’t convinced and so this cannot happen anymore. I think it just hit me then that there was a 10 year age gap. He was a little taken aback. But it ended then” says Kanika.

Though the story should have ended there, Vishal decided to give it another shot a month later. He pinged Kanika when he was in Delhi, saying he wished that she hadn’t ended things, or at least should’ve said no if they didn’t click after the meeting. Vishal’s honesty was commendable, but Kanika was still not sure. Her best friend convinced her to go meet him before deciding. “I remember her telling me that I should not have any regrets later on and that age shouldn’t be the criteria to base my decision on either” Kanika recalls.

“He was there only till the next day evening, and he was in Gurgaon and I was in Noida. And I didn’t want to meet in the evening because it was the winters. So I wasn’t sure if we’d even end up meeting because of my work” says Kanika. But as fate would have it, Kanika got a call from a photographer who asked her to come for a shoot in Gurgaon the next day. She texted Vishal saying she could meet him but would have to leave for the shoot at 9.30 am. Vishal happily agreed and they decided to meet at 7 am at the Leela.

“I reached The Leela early the next morning, and when I saw him I realised that there didn’t even seem like there was a big age difference. He looked so handsome and he was such a gentleman. He seemed much younger and was fit and I was very surprised, mein full flat ho gayi thi” giggles Kanika.

Though it started on a very uncertain note, after their first meeting everything changed. “He would travel every weekend to Delhi. I told my family and they too were okay with it. I also started travelling to Mumbai. I met his siblings and their spouses. I told him I wanted to quit my job and do full-time modelling and he told me that I should go for it and shift to Mumbai and that he will support me. Everything was going well” Kanika adds.

Like many couples, Kanika and Vishal also had their fair share of hurdles to overcome. A day after she quit her job, Kanika tried calling Vishal but he began avoiding her for some reason. Later they had an argument where Vishal ended the relationship saying he wasn’t feeling the connection. This broke Kanika’s heart, “I was wondering what he was talking about because the only issue was the distance and that was going to be solved anyway since I was shifting to Mumbai soon”. It was, in fact, quite a bad place to be in, especially since Kanika had quit her job and had become quite dependent on Vishal by then. “A few weeks later, he got in touch with me and apologised, saying this won’t happen again. I was so in love with him that I took him back without a second thought” says Kanika.

They say tough times brings you closer to the people you love. And that’s exactly what happened for this couple too. Kanika shifted her base to Mumbai in August and their respective families met and slowly things started falling into place. At that time, Vishal’s father was unwell and because his health was deteriorating day by day, the marriage was fixed soon after. They had a small function at home with 30–35 people and then began their happily ever after.

Fast forward to 2 years from then, Kanika and Vishal are happily married and more in love as each day passes by. The best part of Kanika and Vishal is that they don’t let their love for each other age, instead find reasons to make each other feel special, no matter the occasion.

“I like Riteish Deshmukh’s features and eyes, and Vishal has those eyes. And the first time when I saw him walking over, dressed in full black and with his diamond stud in one ear, I just knew I had fallen for him. The way he speaks and carries himself was all very impressive. Though my family is quite modern, they still had some traditional mindsets. I was a rebel and chose a career that was against my family’s wishes. I wanted a very modern and progressive man, someone who supports my career and he was all of that and there was nothing about Vishal that wasn’t likeable” adds Kanika.

Aisle wishes Kanika and Vishal a lifetime of happiness!

--

--