The Daughter and the Valley

Adam Schmideg
aiWriting
Published in
2 min readApr 27, 2023
henry_nl: Amsterdam: Zuidas Building Activity (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

14:23: Just went on a bike ride with my daughter and stumbled upon a building that looks like two mountains facing each other. There’s a steep valley between them, and we can walk up there without entering the buildings. #exploring #architecture

14:24: I suggested we walk up to the valley, but my daughter was hesitant. She’s unsure if we’re allowed to walk there. I tell her it’s fine, but she still doesn’t want to. #parenting #adventure

14:31: I decide to walk up alone, and my daughter cycles away. What do I do now? Should I go down and find her or explore the valley? #dilemma #parenting

14:33: I weigh my options and decide to explore the valley since my daughter is old enough to manage. Who knows when I’ll be here again? #adventure #spontaneity

14:42: I reach the top and look around, but I can’t help feeling sorry that my daughter isn’t here to enjoy this with me. #familytime #makingmemories

14:46: The view is stunning! In one direction, modern buildings tower over the landscape, but in the other direction, two flat vertical walls and a huge football field below. #architecture #landscape

14:48: I spend some time at the top, but my inner hurry to find my daughter starts to build. I decide to walk back down and see if she’s returned. #patience #parenting

14:55: As I walk down, I spot my daughter. I’m relieved and happy to see her. She tells me she realized she didn’t know the way home, which is why she came back. #relief #familytime

--

--