Musée Granet Part II: XXe

Céleste
Aix Squared
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2015

by Céleste

As part of our ticket to the Musée Granet, we received another ticket for the Jean Planque collection at the Chapel XXe, which is another branch of the museum dedicated to modern and cubist pieces collected by Jean Planque, who was a painter and BFF to Picasso. I’m not really all that interested in modern pieces, and prefer collections like the Musée d’Orsay, or even older works like at the main Musée Granet. However, Vincent and I both found things we liked.

First, the museum is housed in an old chapel, so the building itself was interesting as well, though rather plain.

I’m loving the mermaid doors though.

It was also pretty cool to see some primo Picassos, and to hear the backstory of Jean Planque’s artwork and legacy as a collector. The museum even had pictures of his home where the art had been hanging in his living room and bedroom, which was pretty cool.

Sculpture by Kosta Alex

Photos were not allowed, so I don’t have any pictures from inside the museum. Some of our favorite works, however, were made with interesting materials, like wood stapled together, and cardboard by Kosta Alex. I used to have a client who used cardboard as an art medium, so it was pretty cool to see that in a museum. Vincent says that the top two floors were better than the bottom; I mostly agree, though I also enjoyed the Picasso works and the lone Van Gogh on the first floor.

Overall, I wouldn’t have paid for this museum separately, and it wouldn’t have interested me had it not been part of the Musée Granet ticket. But I’m still glad we were able to see something a bit different.

--

--