Pavillon de Vendôme

Céleste
Aix Squared
Published in
3 min readFeb 22, 2015

--

by Céleste

While Émilie was still here and we were taking leisurely and luxurious strolls through the city, we stopped at the Pavillon de Vendôme. My Fodor’s guidebook had advised me that the Pavillon would be closed for the entire month of January, so Émilie and I made it a point to go on February 1. We wanted to see it while it was fresh.

The Pavillon de Vendôme consists of a garden area, another garden, and an old house. The gardens were beautiful, with fountains and twisting trees. The fountains were full of dull and probably cold fish, and the pigeons were having a grand time hopping around the park. Vincent and I actually returned today to eat our kébabs in the warm sun.

The tourism page tells me that the house was built by Duke de Vendôme for his mistress, Lucrèce de Forbin Solliès, who was called “la Belle du Canet.” It was built in 1665 so that the Duke could go discreetly between his home and his girlfriend’s sex mansion. Inside, there is old furniture, paintings, and interesting decor.

It was lucky we chose that day, because it was free! Normally, the house itself is 3.50 euro, to see 2 stories of an old house, approximately 6 rooms total. Now, I’m typically pretty cheap, but 3.50 seemed high for a 20–30 minute self-guided tour of an old mansion. But we got in free that day, so my cheap heart was happy.

Émilie and I noticed that on the outside, two muscular guys are posed as though they are holding up the balcony (see above), while on the inside, four cupids are posed similarly, holding up the ceiling. Photography is not allowed inside though I sneakily got this blurry picture of a clock. It was worth it. (Don’t worry, no flash).

Overall, it was a Kinda want that clock.

Overall, it was a nice place to visit, though I liked not having to pay. Maybe there are more free days throughout the year, or maybe we were just lucky!

--

--